Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2021, 10:01 PM   #1
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 13
Default Generator Won’t Crank

Maxum 3700 SCR Generator stopped working yesterday, and won’t even crank. In addition there is now a gas smell in the cabin. Not sure if the two are related, but wanted to see if anyone had any trouble shoots.
__________________

Diggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 12:04 AM   #2
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 192
Default

I'd start by making sure your battery is good. By good I mean enough cranking amps. A friend of mine who owns a Searay had this issue and it was the battery. Tested ok by itself but didn't have the cranking amps to start the generator. It's a start.... Gas smell could be caused by flooding due to the fuel pump pushing fuel everytime an attempt to start is made.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________

sph801 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 12:09 AM   #3
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks sph801. I have actually questioned the batteries myself, so I will give them a test. Although the generator will still not crank even when the boat is plugged into power at our dock slip. Would this still be the battery you think given it’s getting power from the dock?
Diggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 12:40 AM   #4
Captain
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 522
Default

Yes. Shore power will provide charging current to the batteries, but isn’t meant to be a jump starter.
jparsons121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 12:41 AM   #5
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 192
Default

Yes. The power from the dock is charging your batteries but I don't believe this would overcome low cranking amps. Maybe someone can add to this if I'm wrong.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
sph801 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 01:08 AM   #6
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 13
Default

Appreciate the advise fellas. I’ll give the batteries a test as a starting point.
Diggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2021, 09:02 PM   #7
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 13
Default

Found out we had a blown fuse. When we replaced it the new fuse blew, the.n same with the next. Any ideas what would keep making the fuse blow?
Diggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2021, 10:37 PM   #8
Captain
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 522
Default

If it keeps blowing, there is a short in that circuit somewhere. Which fuse are you replacing?
jparsons121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 12:26 AM   #9
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 9,512
Default

The stater may be drawing too much current. You need to spend some time isolating the issue. I would first disconnect the wire at the starter and see if the fuse blows. If it doesn’t blow remove the starter and ground the housing to see if the starter will turn but not blow the fuse. If this passes there may be an issue with the generators engine or the starter under load of turning the engine.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 01:39 AM   #10
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 13
Default

I’m going to have to take a moment to wrap my head around this one. Lol. If you have a pic to share that might help me a bit. I’m a newb at all this.
Diggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 01:41 AM   #11
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 13
Default

It’s the glass one in the generator. Only one I’d seen. 7.5A 32V
Diggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 01:25 PM   #12
Captain
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 522
Default

Ok. A 7.5 amp fuse would be protection for the controller or relay circuit. What make model and year of genny do you have?
jparsons121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2022, 11:04 PM   #13
Ensign
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 2
Default

Can I ask what you did too fix the problem I have 2001 3300 SCR and an having same issue.
__________________

Kdeahano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.