Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2018, 01:05 AM   #1
Lt. Commander

 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Half Moon Bay, CA
Posts: 165
Default Trim Gauge not working

I've got a trim gauge up at the helm that tells me whether the Bravo 3 stern drive is fully up, fully down or somewhere in between. I had the stern drive serviced (with some other engine work) and when I took the boat to the ramp last time I noticed the gauge isn't registering. It's "pinned" at the top of the scale, but when I turn the ignition on it jumps a little. The trim switch operates fine, the drive goes up and down OK.

I looked at the connections behind the gauge and they look OK. I looked at the trim sensor on the stern drive and it looks OK also.

I'm not sure how the wiring goes from back to front. Is there a place where a connector might have been pulled out? Anything else in the circuit that might have failed?
__________________

__________________
2006 Maxum 2600SE with Mercruiser 5.0L MPI and BIII Drive
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 01:19 AM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 6,526
Default

Did the shop have the sendor off? If so they may not have installed it properly. There is one tab larger than the others that should be set if I recall to the 12 oíclock position with 5he drive down then it can be adjusted by loosening the two screws to rotate it. Inside th3 engine compartment the two wires connect to the engine harness with butt slip on connectors near the distributor.
__________________

__________________
Mike
mmwjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 01:56 AM   #3
Admiral
 
Phillbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,026
Default

Mine has never worked. When cruising I can tell where it is by how the boat is riding. When launching and retrieving I can tell when the out drive is down or up by the change in the sound of the pump.
Phillbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 02:17 AM   #4
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 192
Default

I installed new trim sender and limit switch 2 years ago
This season trim guage all over the place.
I think they are finicky!
Mark
Baby Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 03:31 AM   #5
Lt. Commander

 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Half Moon Bay, CA
Posts: 165
Default

I don't know if they removed it. I attached a photo I just took of it. I don't see the tabs you mention. The wires are heading back towards the boat which seems right, but the words on the sendor are upside down! (Looks like the photo got rotated, so "up" is to the left.)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg trim sendor.jpg (209.9 KB, 6 views)
__________________
2006 Maxum 2600SE with Mercruiser 5.0L MPI and BIII Drive
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 03:41 AM   #6
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 6,526
Default

You have to remove the two screws then pull off the sendor to look at the backside to see the position tabs. Under Documents is the transom manual that shows this and how to align it.
__________________
Mike
mmwjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 03:49 AM   #7
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 6,526
Default

Page 4A-9 of the Alpha manual.
__________________
Mike
mmwjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 04:20 AM   #8
Lt. Commander

 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Half Moon Bay, CA
Posts: 165
Default

I see it in the Bravo manual, page 4A-14. I'll take the sender off tomorrow and see if the alignment marks look right.
__________________
2006 Maxum 2600SE with Mercruiser 5.0L MPI and BIII Drive
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 12:20 PM   #9
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 6,526
Default

To test the gauge disconnect the sense wire (brown/white) and it should read full up then ground the sense terminal and it should read full down.
__________________
Mike
mmwjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 11:58 PM   #10
Lt. Commander

 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Half Moon Bay, CA
Posts: 165
Default

Tried to remove the sender but the two screws wouldn't budge. I assume there's corrosion on the threads. I hit it with some penetrating oil to see if that loosens it up.

Since they are stuck, I'm assuming the mechanic didn't remove it last month. So I'm leaning towards the wiring (connection to the engine harness) is messed up.
__________________

__________________
2006 Maxum 2600SE with Mercruiser 5.0L MPI and BIII Drive
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.