Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2018, 12:05 AM   #1
Lt. Commander

 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Half Moon Bay, CA
Posts: 170
Default Trim Gauge not working

I've got a trim gauge up at the helm that tells me whether the Bravo 3 stern drive is fully up, fully down or somewhere in between. I had the stern drive serviced (with some other engine work) and when I took the boat to the ramp last time I noticed the gauge isn't registering. It's "pinned" at the top of the scale, but when I turn the ignition on it jumps a little. The trim switch operates fine, the drive goes up and down OK.

I looked at the connections behind the gauge and they look OK. I looked at the trim sensor on the stern drive and it looks OK also.

I'm not sure how the wiring goes from back to front. Is there a place where a connector might have been pulled out? Anything else in the circuit that might have failed?
__________________

__________________
2006 Maxum 2600SE with Mercruiser 5.0L MPI and BIII Drive
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 12:19 AM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 8,234
Default

Did the shop have the sendor off? If so they may not have installed it properly. There is one tab larger than the others that should be set if I recall to the 12 o’clock position with 5he drive down then it can be adjusted by loosening the two screws to rotate it. Inside th3 engine compartment the two wires connect to the engine harness with butt slip on connectors near the distributor.
__________________

__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 12:56 AM   #3
Admiral
 
Phillbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lake Powell
Posts: 1,462
Default

Mine has never worked. When cruising I can tell where it is by how the boat is riding. When launching and retrieving I can tell when the out drive is down or up by the change in the sound of the pump.
Phillbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 01:17 AM   #4
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 225
Default

I installed new trim sender and limit switch 2 years ago
This season trim guage all over the place.
I think they are finicky!
Mark
Baby Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 02:31 AM   #5
Lt. Commander

 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Half Moon Bay, CA
Posts: 170
Default

I don't know if they removed it. I attached a photo I just took of it. I don't see the tabs you mention. The wires are heading back towards the boat which seems right, but the words on the sendor are upside down! (Looks like the photo got rotated, so "up" is to the left.)
Attached Thumbnails
trim sendor.jpg  
__________________
2006 Maxum 2600SE with Mercruiser 5.0L MPI and BIII Drive
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 02:41 AM   #6
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 8,234
Default

You have to remove the two screws then pull off the sendor to look at the backside to see the position tabs. Under Documents is the transom manual that shows this and how to align it.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 02:49 AM   #7
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 8,234
Default

Page 4A-9 of the Alpha manual.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 03:20 AM   #8
Lt. Commander

 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Half Moon Bay, CA
Posts: 170
Default

I see it in the Bravo manual, page 4A-14. I'll take the sender off tomorrow and see if the alignment marks look right.
__________________
2006 Maxum 2600SE with Mercruiser 5.0L MPI and BIII Drive
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 11:20 AM   #9
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 8,234
Default

To test the gauge disconnect the sense wire (brown/white) and it should read full up then ground the sense terminal and it should read full down.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 10:58 PM   #10
Lt. Commander

 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Half Moon Bay, CA
Posts: 170
Default

Tried to remove the sender but the two screws wouldn't budge. I assume there's corrosion on the threads. I hit it with some penetrating oil to see if that loosens it up.

Since they are stuck, I'm assuming the mechanic didn't remove it last month. So I'm leaning towards the wiring (connection to the engine harness) is messed up.
__________________
2006 Maxum 2600SE with Mercruiser 5.0L MPI and BIII Drive
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 11:25 PM   #11
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iceman View Post
Tried to remove the sender but the two screws wouldn't budge. I assume there's corrosion on the threads. I hit it with some penetrating oil to see if that loosens it up.

Since they are stuck, I'm assuming the mechanic didn't remove it last month. So I'm leaning towards the wiring (connection to the engine harness) is messed up.


If you want to remove the screws I recommend (I had to do it this way) using a good bit and a cordless electric impact driver as it will rattle the corrosion and they should come right out. I would’ve stripped out the screw doing it with a screwdriver. Then never seize when re installing.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Kellen

2000, 2100SR 5.7 Alpha 1 Gen 2
Overboard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 12:33 AM   #12
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 8,234
Default

You should be able to find the wires coming in from the transom assembly near the top and trace them to the connectors.

I would also do the gauge test I mentioned in my earlier post so you can r7le that out.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 04:40 PM   #13
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 33
Default

I use an impact screw driver with a rubber mallet for this type of screw. Always comes off and far less chance of stripping it.
arichard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2018, 10:48 PM   #14
Lt. Commander

 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Half Moon Bay, CA
Posts: 170
Default

Thanks for your help guys. It turned out to be an unconnected wire for the trim sensor. With Mike's description I was able to find the two wire pairs coming out from the transom (limit and trim), and one wire of one pair was dangling. On the engine harness I noticed a wire labelled "analog trim" that was unconnected also. Put those two together, and the trim gauge is working again.
__________________
2006 Maxum 2600SE with Mercruiser 5.0L MPI and BIII Drive
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2018, 02:38 AM   #15
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 8,234
Default

Glad you were able to resolve the issue. Wish you an uneventful rest of the season as all you have been through over the last year.
__________________

__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.