Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2017, 01:34 AM   #1
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 70
Default Throttle/Shifters for '94 3200SCR?

My throttle/shifter assembly is 23 years old and not doing well. The handles are very loose, but stick at certain points in the action, and I have very poor throttle control as a result. My wife has to use both hands and get her back into it to push them forward enough to get the boat on plane.

So, I'm thinking I should just get new engine controls. Kicker is: I just replaced the throttle and shifter cables last year, so don't want to re-do that. And I don't know what the straight-swap part is.

Any idea what the OEM part for this is? Or what a quality, upgraded replacement might be that doesn't require a new set of cables for twin 7.4L Mercruisers with Bravo IIs?

The boat is otherwise running fine. Just spent two weeks up in the San Juan Islands. Starboard engine is running slightly hot (~185*), but otherwise solid.

Any help is appreciated.
__________________

ertyqway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 01:40 AM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perry Hall, Maryland
Posts: 5,448
Default

To my knowledge Maxum only used Quicksilver controls so replacing with a new one should work however you should verify thus by emailing them. Another potential option is a Teleflex unit but you need to verify the cable ends are the same.
__________________

__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 02:24 AM   #3
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 70
Default

Thanks!
ertyqway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 03:23 AM   #4
Commander
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 431
Default

Mine were apparently upgraded in early 2000s to the newer model with the combined trim button on the port throttle and separate trim buttons on the base. It works fine and probably better than the older one they came with. If they're just hard to push, though, there should be a tensioned friction washer in there you could back off. Mine never stayed where I put them so I had to tighten that screw...
speedysprocket is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 05:43 PM   #5
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: greenfield ma
Posts: 41
Default

most shifters are off shelf items. you should be able to buy a new one and parts for it. ckeck amazon e-bay or most online boating stores. also check craigs list i have had good luck with them. last resort you could go to a boat dealer. they are not that hard to replace. if you did cables yourself you can replace shifter.
dave4boats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 08:51 PM   #6
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 70
Default

The current shifter/throttle is original to the boat. Used the OEM cable when I changed it last year. But now I don't know if that's "Gen 2" or earlier. Don't remember and don't have the docs. Would the throttle on a '94 Maxum use a Gen 2 cable or something earlier? Clear info on this is maddeningly difficult to find.

EDIT: The newer Mercury/Quicksilver throttle lever assemblies all require "Gen 2" cables.
ertyqway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 09:17 PM   #7
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perry Hall, Maryland
Posts: 5,448
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ertyqway View Post
The current shifter/throttle is original to the boat. Used the OEM cable when I changed it last year. But now I don't know if that's "Gen 2" or earlier. Don't remember and don't have the docs. Would the throttle on a '94 Maxum use a Gen 2 cable or something earlier? Clear info on this is maddeningly difficult to find.

EDIT: The newer Mercury/Quicksilver throttle lever assemblies all require "Gen 2" cables.
Gen 2's have eyelet ends at the throttle if this helps you remember what you installed.
__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 09:45 PM   #8
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 70
Default

I don't remember. It's been more than a year.

Further investigation reveals that the controls unit is either a Mercury Commander Console Dual Model 88688A22 or 88688A23. Don't know which. Have not yet found a reference for which type of cable those use. I'm assuming it's the same for both, since they're so similar.
ertyqway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 12:41 PM   #9
Lt. Commander
 
gmc60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mass
Posts: 154
Default

i put Morse they work great and i moved my drive up and down to dash rockers , needed a smooth action controller for dock boat and merc was very stiff . Plus there a little taller so more leverage to. Can send u a pic if interested .
gmc60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 07:17 PM   #10
Captain
 
HavaMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lake Havasu City AZ
Posts: 799
Default

Ertyqway, quick question, I'm needing to replace my throttle/shift cables. Were you able to do this without opening up many compartments? Were you able to just use old to feed the new thru? This sounds like a nightmare of a job.....
__________________

__________________
Dezart Elegance Pool Tile Cleaning
1994 Maxum 3200 SCR
HavaMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3200 scr, throttle

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.