Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2017, 12:34 AM   #1
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 73
Default Throttle/Shifters for '94 3200SCR?

My throttle/shifter assembly is 23 years old and not doing well. The handles are very loose, but stick at certain points in the action, and I have very poor throttle control as a result. My wife has to use both hands and get her back into it to push them forward enough to get the boat on plane.

So, I'm thinking I should just get new engine controls. Kicker is: I just replaced the throttle and shifter cables last year, so don't want to re-do that. And I don't know what the straight-swap part is.

Any idea what the OEM part for this is? Or what a quality, upgraded replacement might be that doesn't require a new set of cables for twin 7.4L Mercruisers with Bravo IIs?

The boat is otherwise running fine. Just spent two weeks up in the San Juan Islands. Starboard engine is running slightly hot (~185*), but otherwise solid.

Any help is appreciated.
__________________

ertyqway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 12:40 AM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 10,419
Default

To my knowledge Maxum only used Quicksilver controls so replacing with a new one should work however you should verify thus by emailing them. Another potential option is a Teleflex unit but you need to verify the cable ends are the same.
__________________

__________________
1997 Silverton 362, 7.4 Crusaders
1997 2400 SCR, 5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 01:24 AM   #3
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 73
Default

Thanks!
ertyqway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 02:23 AM   #4
Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 526
Default

Mine were apparently upgraded in early 2000s to the newer model with the combined trim button on the port throttle and separate trim buttons on the base. It works fine and probably better than the older one they came with. If they're just hard to push, though, there should be a tensioned friction washer in there you could back off. Mine never stayed where I put them so I had to tighten that screw...
speedysprocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 04:43 PM   #5
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: greenfield ma
Posts: 44
Default

most shifters are off shelf items. you should be able to buy a new one and parts for it. ckeck amazon e-bay or most online boating stores. also check craigs list i have had good luck with them. last resort you could go to a boat dealer. they are not that hard to replace. if you did cables yourself you can replace shifter.
dave4boats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 07:51 PM   #6
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 73
Default

The current shifter/throttle is original to the boat. Used the OEM cable when I changed it last year. But now I don't know if that's "Gen 2" or earlier. Don't remember and don't have the docs. Would the throttle on a '94 Maxum use a Gen 2 cable or something earlier? Clear info on this is maddeningly difficult to find.

EDIT: The newer Mercury/Quicksilver throttle lever assemblies all require "Gen 2" cables.
ertyqway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 08:17 PM   #7
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 10,419
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ertyqway View Post
The current shifter/throttle is original to the boat. Used the OEM cable when I changed it last year. But now I don't know if that's "Gen 2" or earlier. Don't remember and don't have the docs. Would the throttle on a '94 Maxum use a Gen 2 cable or something earlier? Clear info on this is maddeningly difficult to find.

EDIT: The newer Mercury/Quicksilver throttle lever assemblies all require "Gen 2" cables.
Gen 2's have eyelet ends at the throttle if this helps you remember what you installed.
__________________
1997 Silverton 362, 7.4 Crusaders
1997 2400 SCR, 5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 08:45 PM   #8
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 73
Default

I don't remember. It's been more than a year.

Further investigation reveals that the controls unit is either a Mercury Commander Console Dual Model 88688A22 or 88688A23. Don't know which. Have not yet found a reference for which type of cable those use. I'm assuming it's the same for both, since they're so similar.
ertyqway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 11:41 AM   #9
Lt. Commander
 
gmc60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mass
Posts: 232
Default

i put Morse they work great and i moved my drive up and down to dash rockers , needed a smooth action controller for dock boat and merc was very stiff . Plus there a little taller so more leverage to. Can send u a pic if interested .
gmc60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 06:17 PM   #10
Captain
 
HavaMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lake Havasu City AZ
Posts: 832
Default

Ertyqway, quick question, I'm needing to replace my throttle/shift cables. Were you able to do this without opening up many compartments? Were you able to just use old to feed the new thru? This sounds like a nightmare of a job.....
__________________
Dezart Elegance Pool Tile Cleaning
1994 Maxum 3200 SCR
HavaMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 01:30 PM   #11
Moderator

 
shrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5,627
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HavaMax View Post
Ertyqway, quick question, I'm needing to replace my throttle/shift cables. Were you able to do this without opening up many compartments? Were you able to just use old to feed the new thru? This sounds like a nightmare of a job.....
I replaced mine. There should be a 'seal' or 'vapor barrier' of sorts where the cables and wires pass through the engine room bulkhead. It's not a huge deal.

On my 2800, I needed to remove a panel in the mid-cabin to feed the cables into the engine compartment. It was not a big deal at all.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 03:44 PM   #12
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HavaMax View Post
Ertyqway, quick question, I'm needing to replace my throttle/shift cables. Were you able to do this without opening up many compartments? Were you able to just use old to feed the new thru? This sounds like a nightmare of a job.....
It was a royal pain. I got about halfway through the process and threw my hands up in frustration, called my friendly neighborhood boat mechanic, and he finished the job for me for $250. It was worth every penny.

The big issue was getting the cables up to the console from the engine compartment. If I had been really thinking about it, I would have strung a pull line through the compartment when I pulled the old cables, so I could pull the new ones back through the same chase. I did not do this, which made the whole thing a hundred times more complicated.

Hence why I am not in any big hurry to change the cables out again so soon. I hope these last the same 22 years as the old ones.
ertyqway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 03:49 PM   #13
Captain
 
HavaMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lake Havasu City AZ
Posts: 832
Default

Thanks....that's what I was afraid of!!! I will probably use the best tool in my toolbox....my checkbook!!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Dezart Elegance Pool Tile Cleaning
1994 Maxum 3200 SCR
HavaMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 01:09 PM   #14
Moderator

 
shrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5,627
Default

You probably don't even need to run a pull line, but that wouldn't be a bad idea for phishing future cables. Overlap about 6-12 inches of the new cable over the old cable. Tape them together in a spiral pattern, then pull the old cables out. The old cables become the pull for the new cables.

I had removed the panel in the aft before, so it was much easier for me to to just that.
__________________

shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3200 scr, throttle

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.