Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2013, 02:19 AM   #1
Ensign
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Default 2003 mercruiser 5.0 bravo 3 impeller

Hey Gang,

I have been given mixed messages about whether I need to pull the boat out of the water to replace the impeller - seems to be a no but some say absolutely yes. I have only found one stopcock which is for the head and apparently there is another one? Anyone have some solid input on this?

Thanks!

James T
__________________

James T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 01:21 PM   #2
Admiral

 
ss3964spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fairfax Va
Posts: 1,512
Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd
Default

You can pull the inlet hose to the pump and either clamp it (first) or plug it after pulling it. If you clamp it shut first very little water will spill, but you will get some water into the bilge when whatever water is still in the block drains out. If you clamp/plug it after you'll get more but still not enough to worry about, and certainly not if your bilge pump is operational.
__________________

ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 03:21 PM   #3
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,920
Default

Alpha's have their impellor in the drive itself. Some may be confusing this with ALL Merc outdrives, which it is not. You will get water in the bilge, particularly if you don't plug the hose and clamp it.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 11:07 PM   #4
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 111
Default

just clamp or plug the hose, no need to take the boat out of the water.... if you lift the hose above the water line the water won't come in.
rodrigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 11:31 PM   #5
Admiral
 
biggerseagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 2,155
Default

Change mine every 3 years in my 3000 scr. Really very easy if you are handy with a wrench. Get a clymer service manual and it will show you step by step.

Roger
biggerseagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 11:00 AM   #6
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 8,229
Default

B3 has an inboard raw water pump. There are 2 hoses 1 from the transom assy (raw water in) the other is the pumps output and goes to the t-stat housing. You need to pull both and I would plug the inlet hose with a emergency plug you can get from any marine store. Remove the belt then remove the 2 bolts holding the bracket to the engine, this will allow you to remove the pump assy from the engine and work on replacing the impeller topside. Be sure to reconnect the inlet and outlet hoses correctly (where you took the off). May want to mark one with a piece of tape.

You didn'y say what model boat you have but cruisers have 2 seacocks, 1 for the head the other for the AC.

Live long and prosper James T
__________________

__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.