Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2011, 02:48 PM   #1
Lt. JG
 
katsal2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 26
Default windlass remote switches

has any one installed windlass remote switches @ the helm? i have the weather proof up / down switches at the bow, but would like to have a remote set at the helm as well.

Admiral not very savvy on taking orders from helm to bow on anchoring.
__________________

katsal2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 12:21 AM   #2
Admiral

 
seapuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Everett Wa
Posts: 4,681
Default

I haven't done it personally since both of my boats have them installed....but it's definitely doable.....


SP
__________________

__________________
Don't compare your life to others. You have no idea what their journey is all about.
------------------------
SSN683 Association member
Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
--------------------------------------
I live in my own little world....but it's okay-they know me here!!!

Avid practitioner of the martial art: KLIK-PAO.
Tap-Rack-Bang

Anyone that sez "Size doesn't matter" has never owned a boat!
seapuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 10:15 PM   #3
Lt. Commander
 
Stressleave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 138
Default

All you need is a momontary up/down spring load to center toggle switch, power the center terminal and piggyback the other two out to your bow switches.
Paul
__________________
Stressleave
2008 Maxum 2500 SE
Stressleave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 04:24 PM   #4
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 139
Default

Old thread, so probably completed by now. If not, a helm switch is a must have for a windlass. Takes all the 'coordination' out of having to go fore or having someone go pull the anchor, while driving forward etc etc. Your windlass manual should have the wiring schematic to add in a remote switch. I recommend soldering your remote wires, coat with dialectic grease and shrink tubing it all, if within your anchor locker. The high humidity and possible line splash may strain the connections down there, and besides; why not go for the absolute best connection right off the bat to ensure flawless operation when most needed. Since a remote switch powers a solenoid, not larger than like 16 gauge 3 wire should be fine for a normal 20 foot run or so.
__________________
Prior boat: 1999 Maxum 2400SCR (I loved that boat but the wife made me get bigger). Current: '96 Carver 325 aft cabin.
Tommyfmu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.