Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2014, 02:37 AM   #1
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 14
Default garmin 18hd radar install on a 2004 maxum 2400se

So I'm installing a garmin 18hd radar on a fishing arch and running the power and radar wiring inside the arch tubing. With the radar wire going to the garmin 741xs. Should I run the power wire directly to the battery and connect the black wire to the negative post and the red wire to the positive post, or run it to the wiring under the steering wheel. I have two batteries. One starter battery and a deep cell. Which battery should I connect to if running the wires to the battery is the way to go.
Thanks
Captsavvy
__________________

captsavvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 11:46 AM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,776
Default

captsavvy welcome aboard.

IMO the perfer way is to run the power to the helm and use a spare aux switch that has a rated fuse for the radar. The ground (black) will go to the ground block look for where all the other black wires are connected and the red (12V positive) will go to the switch. This is how I wired by GPS.

Running wires to the battery ends up in a rates nest that leads to issues.
__________________

__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 04:08 PM   #3
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,722
Default

Welcome Aboard 'captsavvy'!!!!

I am not a big fan of wiring things directly to the battery terminals themselves. For one, you quickly start to exceed the max. number of connectors to a post. As stated by mmwjjr is begins to lead to a rats nest and makes troubleshooting cumbersome. Most importantly, you by pass the ability to isolate your batteries and shut the entire 12v circuit off completely. IF that battery is dead, then your radar is dead and you have to crawl in the bilge to start re-wiring your electronics. I would avoid that scenario. Run it off of the panel, where you can shut it down as well as select which battery to be the active battery.

Basically, what 'he' ^^ said.

Just my .02
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 01:22 AM   #4
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 14
Default

Thank you
captsavvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.