Go Back   Maxum Boat Owners Club - Forum > Maxum General > Engines
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 06-12-2023, 01:25 AM   #1
Lieutenant

Default Sea Pump / Block Pressure Fault Code

Hi All,

My Mercruiser 496 MAG went into guardian mode on me several times today. I had been running the engine for about 15 minutes after leaving the marina. I had the boat up on plane at 3,800 rpm for about 5 minutes, then slowed down to about 1,800 rpm and the guardian mode gave a constant beep.

I limped back to the dock and took readings on a Rinda Techmate (which I'm still learning to use....). The "freeze frame" data showed "Fault 3, Sea Pump / Block Pressure Low". The block pressure at the time the guardian kicked in was 0.3 psi (see photos).

Back at the dock I ran the engine at idle and took live readings. At idle the block pressure was 43.4 psi (which the code reference I have says is the "default" reading when sea pump psi is low - see last photo).

The raw water pump is new last season, as is the impeller.

Any suggestions? Possible bad sensor? Some sort of water intake blockage?

The port and starboard coolant temperature reading on the Rinda (I assume it's the temp of the risers?) while at idle was quite different (port was 107 F, starboard was 78 F), so I'm wondering if the port side is overheating due to poor water pressure? Overall coolant temp reading was 165.

Thanks,
Ken
Attached Thumbnails
Sea Pump Block Pressure.jpg   Block Pressure.jpg   Fault Codes.jpg  

kt_maxum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2023, 12:52 PM   #2

if you have Bravo III outdrives, then the intake hose running from the pickups through the transom assembly can get crushed from aluminum corrosion and reduces waterflow.

If this is the case, then there are two solutions.

1) REplace the Transom assembly

OR