Go Back   Maxum Boat Owners Club - Forum > Maxum General > Engines
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 02-23-2012, 02:05 PM   #1
Ensign

Default How To

I have a 1990 maxum 5.0 i need to replace the motor. This is my first time replacing a motor on a boat does anyone have tips that can help me out.

BiGRaY65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 02:24 PM   #2
Captain

i was going to pull my engie 7.4 myself, but decided not to.

there are nice youtube videos you can watch other people do it.

building a A-frame, removing the engine hatch, rear sweep radar arch in my case was in the way, mainfolds had to be removed to get it up.

any marine can pull the engine and reinstall for $850 bucks, and get it done in 2 hours.

More importantly, I pulled my engine, to replace the engine coupler, which is rubber and aluminum on the flywheel for the drive shaft, and ended up rebuilding the transom seals since its a job that can only be done with the engine out.

since your retro fitting, its prudent to install new seal to set you up for the next 10 years.

pascavone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 03:21 PM   #3
Ensign

Thank you for your help
BiGRaY65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 03:25 PM   #4
Admiral