Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2022, 07:37 PM   #1
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 3
Default Shore Power control panel tripped

Hi all, please help!
I foolishly put the microwave on and the electrics tripped. It wasn’t the pontoon, it wasn’t the trip switch in the back of the boat (accessed from outside), we couldn’t see any other fuse boxes in the engine bay? And ideas? 2700SCR 2002. Many thanks!
__________________

Veto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2022, 08:23 PM   #2
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 3
Default

Ahhh, we found the transformer. That's what tripped.
__________________

Veto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2022, 01:27 PM   #3
Moderator

 
shrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5,317
Default

A transformer??? That is interesting. I'm not sure why turning on the microwave would cause a problem. Is there a chance that this is an inverter and not a transformer??
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2022, 01:47 PM   #4
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrew View Post
A transformer??? That is interesting. I'm not sure why turning on the microwave would cause a problem. Is there a chance that this is an inverter and not a transformer??
My husband was puzzled by this too! Definitely a transformer and now a big Do Not Use sign on the microwave
Veto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 10:33 PM   #5
Captain
 
donald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Mn.
Posts: 599
Default

Pics would help.
Don
__________________
1995 Maxum 2400 SCR 5.7 A1 G2 LUNA DE MIEL
1988 Bayliner 2455 5.0 IO (sold)
1987 Seaswerl 18ft C. Cabin 4.3 IO(lost in fire)
1998 Alumacraft 170 Trophy Mariner 100hp/Evinrude 9.9hp
donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 03:26 AM   #6
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: SW WY
Posts: 24
Default

Was something else like the AC or stove or hair dryer running at the same time you turned on the microwave? The microwave by itself shouldn’t be enough to trip what I presume to be a 30 amp shore power circuit.

As for it being a transformer, it’s my understanding the transformer is there to isolate the onboard electrical circuits from the dockside electrical circuit in order to minimize stray current and it’s associated corrosion problems:

https://www.yachtsurvey.com/corrosion_in_marinas.htm
wiigelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 02:47 PM   #7
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 9,301
Default

Veto, where in the world are you located? In other words is this transformer to convert European power to a US made boat?
__________________

__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.