Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2023, 12:16 AM   #1
Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 523
Default Fridge DC power source

Hey, been struggling lately to restore DC power to the fridge in my 1994 3200SCR. Iím guess I blew a fuse somewhere while working on the fridge, but I canít find where it might be. All the fuses I can under the helm are good.
There are also two or three separate fuse blocks under there, some glass fuses and some spade. Is this normalÖ?
__________________

speedysprocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2023, 12:49 AM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 9,676
Default

Most likely the fuse panel with spade fuses was either added or a replacement panel. I believe the refrigerator has a fuse at its input power supply.
__________________

__________________
1997 Silverton 362, 7.4 Crusaders
1997 2400 SCR, 5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2023, 01:08 AM   #3
Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 523
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmwjr View Post
Most likely the fuse panel with spade fuses was either added or a replacement panel. I believe the refrigerator has a fuse at its input power supply.

Iíve had to cut the wires to remove the fridge from the boat. The black is still grounded, but the red one is dead.
speedysprocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2023, 03:45 AM   #4
Admiral
 
biggerseagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 2,248
Default

You should have a shore power receptacle with plug inside the cavity of where the frig is. That is your 110 side. Then the wires that you cut are the 12v side of your frig which should have a fuse on the red wire , hot side, line somewhere and it sounds like you are going to have to hunt for it because it's dead.

Have fun

Roger
biggerseagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2023, 02:28 PM   #5
Moderator

 
shrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5,453
Default

If you've done this, then I apologize as it wasn't clear in the problem description.

As stated, the fridge usually has an AC pig tail (plug) plugged into an outlet in the back of the cabinet.

The DC is more than likely Red/Black. Put a Volt Meter on the DC circuit and see what you get. If nothing, I sometimes find an alternate DC source or run jumpers from a battery and test the Fridge Pos. and alternate Ground, then test Fridge Ground and alternate Pos. to see if the circuit is open on the hot or the ground side.

The breaker/fuse protects the circuit, not the device, so the breaker/fuse should be as close to the power source as possible. This is usually the fuse bus (underneath the dash).

If the fuse itself 'looks' good, then see if the issue is in the bus itself. If not, it's along the circuit somewhere.

If you're getting DC power to the fridge itself, then check for a breaker or fuse ON the fridge itself. If I recall I had a blade fuse on the back of my fridge. However, I can't remember if that was the old Norcold, of the Nova Kool I have now.

Good Luck.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2023, 04:04 PM   #6
Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 523
Default

Shame on me. Looked harder and found a blown 10 amp fuse under the helm. All is good now.
And this had even more wires stuffed in there before I removed the old loran and radar wiringÖ

For what itís worth, fridge quit working just over a year after having the boards rebuilt. Contacted him and he said compressor is probably shot. Randomly found the same vintage Norcold AC/DC fridge, just smaller, at that same time on Facebook. Had the same exact boards and compressor, just smaller ice box tray. Sure enough, my boards were still good and it was the compressor that was bad. I was able to swap the whole refrigeration assembly into the bigger fridge to get working again. So freezer is smaller now, but it works. AC tech buddy said he should be able to swap compressors and recharge it some day..
speedysprocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2023, 12:44 AM   #7
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 9,676
Default

Glad you resolved the issue. Now get the cold ones chillin.
__________________
1997 Silverton 362, 7.4 Crusaders
1997 2400 SCR, 5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2023, 02:53 PM   #8
Moderator

 
shrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5,453
Default

That pick is a nightmare. Time and patience would fix that in a days work. Half a day, if you could convince someone to stand there handing you things while you down there. The process of getting into and out of those awkward spaces 40 times for a project like that adds a lot of time to the project.
__________________

shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.