Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2015, 03:31 PM   #1
Lt. JG
 
rjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Default Replacing in-hull transducer

I have a 1999 2800 SCR and the factory digital depth gauge shows 2 dashes on the dial. The depth gauge people tell me I have a bad in hull transducer. I would like to replace it and also add a depth/GPS system, also in hull if possible.

How do I feed the transducer wires through to the dash? What panels do I need to open and what are the logistics to getting the wire through to the dash?

Thanks.
__________________

rjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 03:59 PM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perry Hall, Maryland
Posts: 5,403
Default

Typically failure. Trace the old transducer wire and you may be able to use it as a pull wire for the new one. Cut the old one in the bilge and tie it to the new one to pull. However you may find the passages are filled to prevent fumes from getting forward.
__________________

__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 04:49 PM   #3
Lt. JG
 
rjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Default 2800 SCR transducer cable replacement

Thanks for the quick response.

I followed the transducer cable into a really big glob of silicone on the bulk head. What would be place on the other side that it goes to? Can I get to it by taking off the panel where the throttle is, or is there a better way to get better access to the in hull transducer cable on a 1999 2800 SCR?
rjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 04:49 PM   #4
Captain
 
Phillbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 855
Default

Can't you just replace the transducer and use the same wire from the old one?
Phillbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 04:52 PM   #5
Lt. JG
 
rjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Default

The depth finder people told me that if you are getting 2 dashes, it is the transducer that is bad, not the gauge it self. I plan to attach the new transducer and drop it into the water, to make sure the one I have is bad, before replacing it.
rjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 04:58 PM   #6
Lt. JG
 
rjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Default

I misread your reply. I have not heard of anyone cutting off the cable and attaching the transducer to the old cable. I thought since it will be wet, they needed to be one sealed unit, transducer and cable. It could very well be something wrong with the cable. I don't know where the problem lies.
rjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 05:33 PM   #7
Captain
 
Kevlar7r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 742
Default

I haven't heard of anyone doing that either, but I suppose its possible. Make the connection in a dry spot. Not sure if those are coaxial or bundled cables though.



One problem though, say you cut the wires on the old one, then cut the wire on your new one to connect it, and discover the problem was really the cable between the bilge and dash. You just threw away a new transducer.
Kevlar7r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 05:39 PM   #8
Lt. JG
 
rjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Default

The transducer needs to be as low in the bottom as possible, so it is going to be in a spot that gets wet. I think it is a coaxial wire as it is an RCA fitting.
rjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 05:42 PM   #9
Captain
 
Kevlar7r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 742
Default

I was suggesting make your splice further up the cable, in a dry spot. Not right at the transducer, if you decide to do that.
Kevlar7r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 09:27 PM   #10
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perry Hall, Maryland
Posts: 5,403
Default

I have heard of a new transducer being spliced to an old cable however you must ensure they both have the same wiring and that you do a good job else the signal integrity will result in poor performance.

And yes it should be done inside the boat in a dry area.

With that said I would go through the effort to run the new cable all the way to the unit.
__________________

__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2800scr

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.