Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2014, 02:23 AM   #1
Lieutenant
 
Sled600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Everett wa
Posts: 90
Default Changing a tach with a built in hour meter

I have a 2004 2100SD. 5.0 liter Mercruiser. Bought it last year with non working tach and voltmeter. So... I bought a new rack of gauges (for nearly the same price as a Faria repair).

I got my replacement gauges in the mail today.... Love em... Look good, etc.
I plan to install them next weekend.

My question.....
The original tach had an hour meter. The replacement tach also has an hour meter. The hour meter function worked in the old tach..

Is it possible to attach the new tach to a battery for the same number of hours that my original tach showed? Then the new tach will show the original hours...

Obviously that would be preferred over explaining the difference to folks if I ever went to sell it....

Also,
I am not sure if the hour meter is activated by a "battery" signal or a "tach" signal...

Any ideas?

Thanx in advance!

Rocky
__________________

Sled600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 03:47 AM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perry Hall, Maryland
Posts: 5,401
Default

Hour meter is typically counting when the ignition is on and not just the battery. I don't believe there is a way to transfer the hours into the new meter other than powering it till it reached the same hour count.
__________________

__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 01:38 PM   #3
Admiral
 
biggerseagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 1,894
Default

Take a very clear picture of the hours, date it, put it in your files for when you ever sell your boat. Most buyers understand all this.

Roger
biggerseagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 02:34 AM   #4
Lieutenant
 
Sled600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Everett wa
Posts: 90
Default

I did get an email back from Faria. Apparently it can be done with a square wave signal generator (whatever that is...and waiting 85.6 hours....).? I know almost as much about electronics as I do women ..so I think I will go with the picture method mentioned by biggerseagar....

Thanks guys!!!
Sled600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 03:34 AM   #5
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perry Hall, Maryland
Posts: 5,401
Default

Well that tells me the counter is counting pulses that the tach uses to display RPMs.

FYI a square wave generator is basically just that, it generate a signal that has a square shape. Start low then sharp rise to high level then back to low level. The generator allows you to set what voltage the high and low are at and the rise and fall time of the transistion between them.

As for women I have no clue, you would think i should having grown up with 4 older sisters than having 2 daughters. Only thing i learned is I give up
__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.