Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2014, 02:38 PM   #1
Captain
 
Kevlar7r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 742
Default 3000 SCR Battery wiring

I have read several threads recently on battery switches, and what setting you should use... Not of it really made sense, so crawled in, took apart my panels, and traced out all the wires. The attached diagram is drawn on a paper plate, all I had around.





I have 2 switches, engine and house, 2 batteries, and 2 engines. There are 3 terminals on the back of each switch, battery 1, battery 2, and load. The starboard battery goes to the battery 1 position of the eng. Switch. The port(ish) battery goes to battery 1 on the house switch. No batteries are connected to the battery 2 terminals. They are just jumpered together.





The windless comes off load on top switch, and house loads seem to be tied to the port engine. The port engine comes from load on the bottom switch, starboard engine line comes from load on the top switch.





So, both switches need to be in position 1 all the time. Putting a switch in position 2 does nothing unless the other switch is in Both. You cannot uncouple house loads from port battery or engine.





This makes no sense to me why you would wire this way. Is this factory? Or did a previous owner mess with it? For what its worth, it did not look like anyone had opened these panels before since installed.

Okay, pictures don't seem to want to attach today. I'll keep trying.
__________________

Kevlar7r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 03:10 PM   #2
Captain
 
Kevlar7r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 742
Default

Pictures of the back of the switches. The red wire closest to the camera in the first pic is the windlass wire. Also the top wire in the second pic. Second pic shows the jumper between battery 2 positions.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg WP_20141002_019.jpg (184.8 KB, 29 views)
File Type: jpg WP_20141002_017.jpg (187.9 KB, 26 views)
File Type: jpg WP_20141002_018.jpg (179.0 KB, 28 views)
__________________

Kevlar7r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 05:17 PM   #3
Admiral
 
biggerseagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 1,894
Default

Yes mine is the same way...isolaters on both and so it goes. I just never have wanted to put in the time and effort to get one battery for start both engines and then the other as a house battery like it should be. I don't know what idiot from maxum came up with this harebrain idea but they did....

Roger
biggerseagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 10:46 PM   #4
Captain
 
Kevlar7r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 742
Default

That's what I was afraid of, lol.

To rewire it like I think it would be, could all be done behind the switch panel.

Would need another 4'0 jumper, move second battery to battery 2 position, add jumper between position 1 on both switches, and move engine cables to engine switch.

But, then there is the problem of house loads. I think they connect at the port starter terminal, would have to run more 4'0 up to the switch.

Started typing before I thought that all out! Lol.
Kevlar7r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 12:24 AM   #5
Admiral
 
biggerseagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 1,894
Default

I have two 29 deep cycle batteries with a rating of 190 ah's each. So the only thing running on 12v is my frig when on the hook and so far it works just fine with this setup. My battery charger is a three bank so if I needed a third battery for house use at least I can charge it.

Roger
biggerseagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 01:56 PM   #6
Captain
 
Kevlar7r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 742
Default

The third bank on my charger is the generator battery. Which is fine when you have shore power, but seems like you should be able to charge the generator battery with an engine as well. Maybe I need to get in there and add isolators and such....

Or just live with it and enjoy my boat! 😊
__________________

Kevlar7r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.