Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2023, 10:54 AM   #1
Lt. JG
 
Eric08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Barcelona (Spain)
Posts: 34
Exclamation I have to take off the engine out to change a hose?

Hy,

Sorry for my inglish. I am french.

A mechanic tells me that we have to remove the engine to change the water inlet hose attached to the transom? ( the part to be changed is: 8M0090859 ) https://www.crowleymarine.com/mercur...90859-hose-kit

Do you think it's doable without taking the engine out?

My engine is a Mercruiser 5.7 L 350 CID and my boat is a 2700 SCR (1998).

Thank you very much.
Regards,

Eric
__________________

__________________
From Barcelona. 2700 SCR 1998.
Eric08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2023, 01:13 PM   #2
Moderator

 
shrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5,596
Default

I replaced one on a Bravo III with the engine out and outdrive off.
__________________

shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2023, 01:15 PM   #3
Lt. JG
 
Eric08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Barcelona (Spain)
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrew View Post
I replaced one on a Bravo III with the engine out and outdrive off.
That's to say ? Did the engine stay in the boat or not? Thanks
__________________
From Barcelona. 2700 SCR 1998.
Eric08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2023, 01:18 PM   #4
Moderator

 
shrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5,596
Default

The engine was OUT of the boat. I don't see how you're going to do that job with the engine in the boat.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2023, 01:23 PM   #5
Lt. JG
 
Eric08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Barcelona (Spain)
Posts: 34
Default

It's just a small rubber tube to replace. I have to remove the motor for this? I am disgusted. Thanks SHREW.
__________________
From Barcelona. 2700 SCR 1998.
Eric08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2023, 01:47 PM   #6
Moderator

 
shrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5,596
Default

My engine was out because I was replacing the transom assembly. I was replacing the transom assembly because aluminum corrosion was 'growing' and crushing the intake hose, restricting water flow.

It's not the size of the hose, or that it is rubber. It is simply where it is located. It's going to be very, very difficult to access with the engine in place.

'Disgusted' seems a bit extreme of an emotion for this situation. Sometime things on boats are difficult to access. My guess is you've never owned a German automobile.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2023, 01:44 PM   #7
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 108
Default

Im 90% sure you dont need to remove the motor.
Lots of you tube videos showing how to do it.
Where the hose connects to the transom it might have a brass fittting, if its plastic make sure you cut the hose end so it slides off the fitting, or it could break off.
My understading.
Mr Hemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2023, 05:23 PM   #8
Lt. JG
 
Eric08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Barcelona (Spain)
Posts: 34
Default

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
From Barcelona. 2700 SCR 1998.
Eric08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
engine access

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.