Old 06-01-2011, 09:04 PM   #1
Ensign

Unhappy On board fresh water

Greetings all. I'm new to this, bought a 1999 maxum 2800 SCR a year ago. Need some advice regarding on-board fresh water.
Last week shop dewinterized my boat - had antfreeze in the system. Since then, I turn the red toggle switch in the galley to ON, I can hear the pump making noise, few onces of water come out the galley (cold) spout, noise stops, water stops running. I can still get some hot water.
Can you tell me what might be wrong with the system. I would also like to know where the pump is.

Many thanks

011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 09:11 PM   #2
Admiral

first off..welcome to the zoo....2nd off...the 2800 is a nice sized boat....really like that model..
the water pump is in the engine bay behind the water tank....your san tank (aka poop tank) is usually mounted above it....that being said....don't confuse the 2....

the water tank may not have enough water in it if it's just spurtting out air and water..but you need to bleed the system....so...start up the pump.....leave it on till you hear the pump stop growling at you...
then open the tap...if your getting plenty of hot water...turn it over to cold only...do that in the head also....you just might have an air lock somewhere....

once that's all done...you will have a nasty antifreeze taste and smell to the water...use about a bottle of white vinegar in the water tank and let sit for 24 - 48 hrs....then drain it out....run it thru the lines and that will remove any smell/taste of the pink stuff.....PLEASE ensure that you don't allow the water heater to go dry with power on..that will burn out the thermostats and it won't heat the water up.....(don't ask how I know)....

hope this helps.....

SP

Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
--------------------------------------
I live in my own little world....but it's okay-they know me here!!!