Old 07-23-2009, 09:00 PM   #1
Ensign

Default 7.4L 2001 2700 scr will not get above 3000 RPM

Hello, I am new to the forum so hello everyone. I am new to boating and purchased a maxum 2700 scr 2001. It was fine for a few months and then the other day I was up on plane at 3200 Rpms and it just started bogging and came off plane on its own. Now it will not go above 3000 rpms. It starts to bog. If I back off the throttle it runs fine. It starts fine and idles fine. Anyone have this issue before? Any help would be great. I am a helicopter Mechanic but no little about boats. I was thinking fuel filter so I changed it and there was no water in it so my fuel source is good. Now it will not start... I assume the fuel filter that I put in needs to be full of fuel before I install it? I put it in empty. So if anyone has any ideas that would be great. Thank you in advance if you are able to help.

cgheli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 10:42 PM   #2
Admiral

Default Re: 7.4L 2001 2700 scr will not get above 3000 RPM

Hi and welcome to the zoo..I had this happen also...but for me they had a smaller canister type inline fuel filter down in the bilge from the tank to the spin on filter....that was clogged....so...since you replaced the spinon filter....that should be ok....but the other thing it can be is at the carb there is a screen or small filter that is usually in the base of the carb where the fuel line goes into the bowl top...that might be clogged....
another place to look is the pickup at the bottom of the tank.....careful to ensure that everything electrical is turned off.....finally....check the vent to the tank on the stbd side of the boat....if that is blocked ...it will create a vacuum and not allow gas to get pumped up to the carb....

let us know how it comes out..

SP :hello: irate:

Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
--------------------------------------