Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2023, 11:54 PM   #1
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Posts: 52
Default Circuit Breaker Question

I have a 1988 Stratos Bass Boat, I lost all instruments on dashboard (no readings it as if they are all dead. I cannot find a fuse box but I am able to find #8 circuit breakers under the dash. The bolts attached to them a really rusty, but I could get them loosened with penetration oil. My question is this,
How do I know if any of them are bad?
And How can I test them?
Why my boat does not have a fuse box is strange for me. Any feedback is appreciated.
Thank You,
Steve
__________________

mr steve wayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2023, 03:42 PM   #2
Moderator

 
shrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5,583
Default

They do make 12V breakers. My boat uses 12v breakers rather than fuses.

Using a volt meter set to 12V DC:

-> Test the positive and ground at the battery

-> test positive and ground at the battery switch IN, then battery switch OUT.

-> test positive and ground at the battery switch OUT (with the switch ON).

-> Test the positive and ground going into the 12v panel.

-> test positive and ground coming out of the breaker (breaker ON).
__________________

shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 03:08 PM   #3
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Posts: 52
Default

I have tested like you said, and got very funny readings.
OK, I ordered new 12 v /8A breakers from Great Lakes Shippers to replace mine. Did not get them last week FedEx lost my package. These breakers are funny for me to understand. So here is my questions:

1. There is no reset button any where for these breakers, all I have by the switch is a small red light, is it supposed to come on when the breaker trips? or is it supposed to be on when the breaker is ok?
2. With not button that clicks out when breaker trips, do you replace the breaker every time it goes out?
3. I am thinking very strongly about changing over to a fuse panel. So would 12v/8A breaker be replaced with how amp fuse,10amp?
This novice thanks you for you very much for your knowledge and advice.
Mr Steve
mr steve wayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 04:07 PM   #4
Moderator

 
shrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5,583
Default

Could you send a picture of what you have?

There are only two solutions; Breakers or Fuses. Breakers are resettable, fuses are not. At this point, it is not clear what you have or what style you have.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2023, 01:24 PM   #5
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Posts: 52
Default

I played it safe and ordered new breakers. Put them in and everything is working fine. I do plan on converting them later in the fall to marine fuses.
Thank you for all of your advice.
Mr Steve
mr steve wayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.