Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2009, 10:34 AM   #1
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 32
Default Trim tabs

another quick question..does anyone know what fuse amp the trim tabs require? i am refering to the inline fuse close to the trim tabs motor not the one under the steering. Thanks guys
__________________

clint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 01:01 PM   #2
Admiral

 
seapuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Everett Wa
Posts: 4,681
Default Re: Trim tabs

I think they are about 6amps dc....125vac...


call bennett trim tabs ...they will be happy to answer


SP irate:
__________________

__________________
Don't compare your life to others. You have no idea what their journey is all about.
------------------------
SSN683 Association member
Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
--------------------------------------
I live in my own little world....but it's okay-they know me here!!!

Avid practitioner of the martial art: KLIK-PAO.
Tap-Rack-Bang

Anyone that sez "Size doesn't matter" has never owned a boat!
seapuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 01:37 PM   #3
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 32
Default Re: Trim tabs

cheers SP


Quote:
Originally Posted by seapuppy
I think they are about 6amps dc....125vac...


call bennett trim tabs ...they will be happy to answer


SP irate:
clint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 01:54 PM   #4
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 32
Default Re: Trim tabs

SP

The sides of the fuse broke and are still in both ends of the plastic cover. only the clear tube came in my hand..

any ideas how a can remove them from inside the plastic?

Thanks



Quote:
Originally Posted by seapuppy
I think they are about 6amps dc....125vac...


call bennett trim tabs ...they will be happy to answer


SP irate:
clint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 02:59 PM   #5
Admiral

 
seapuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Everett Wa
Posts: 4,681
Default Re: Trim tabs

oh man...I hate that when that happens.... :shock:

anyways....if you can get a fine point needle nose pliers and pull them out....if not...and they are rusted...then just cut out the old one and splice in a new one you can get at WM or your local boat store...


be sure to use marine grade fuse holder since they are treated for water emersion and less prone to corrosion..

SP :hello:
__________________
Don't compare your life to others. You have no idea what their journey is all about.
------------------------
SSN683 Association member
Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
--------------------------------------
I live in my own little world....but it's okay-they know me here!!!

Avid practitioner of the martial art: KLIK-PAO.
Tap-Rack-Bang

Anyone that sez "Size doesn't matter" has never owned a boat!
seapuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 03:25 PM   #6
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 32
Default Re: Trim tabs

Thanks SP. I have no idea what the trim tabs make are as i bought the boat used. I only have a a number on the motor no brands. Will a 10amp fuse do?
clint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 03:48 PM   #7
Admiral

 
seapuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Everett Wa
Posts: 4,681
Default Re: Trim tabs

more like a 6amp fuse....if I remember mine....

SP irate:
__________________
Don't compare your life to others. You have no idea what their journey is all about.
------------------------
SSN683 Association member
Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
--------------------------------------
I live in my own little world....but it's okay-they know me here!!!

Avid practitioner of the martial art: KLIK-PAO.
Tap-Rack-Bang

Anyone that sez "Size doesn't matter" has never owned a boat!
seapuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 08:49 PM   #8
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 32
Default Re: Trim tabs

Hi SP

i had to replace the inline fuse as i could not remove the dismantled fuse. tabs working fine however i have some issues. The switches have been switched. The starboard switch moves the port tab and the port switch moves the starboard tab makin things more confusing than they already are Is it possible to switch the wires in the switches?

Is it normal that the tabs go down to approx 130 degrees with the hull? I am new to trim tabs and thought that they should go to 180 degrees with hull :? Hope i did not confuse you
clint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 12:33 PM   #9
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: england
Posts: 174
Default Re: Trim tabs

clint your switches are correct and the tabs do only go down about 2/3 rds way,
Play about with them when you are on the plane and it will get you used to what does what,

ash
__________________
1999 maxum 2800scr 6.2l b3
www.D-fenda.co.uk
zt260 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 01:32 PM   #10
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 32
Default Re: Trim tabs

thanks ash...i thought switches were reversed..
__________________

clint is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
winter project.... seapuppy Sport Yachts 0 01-11-2010 12:49 AM
2900 SCR Forward deck Cymru Maxum Owners General Discussions 3 08-28-2009 02:55 PM
Foam block - loose Argonaut Maxum Maintenance 3 04-14-2009 12:53 PM
stern drive removal dubble dippin Maxum Maintenance 3 04-13-2009 01:52 AM
Plastic Piranha Propellers Gazjen Maxum Owners General Discussions 1 07-13-2008 08:16 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.