Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2019, 06:55 PM   #1
Ensign
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Default Shore Power

So I just bought a new to me 1996 Maxum 2400 SCR. I have a power panel that is labeled shore power. Iíve crawled through every inch of the boat and can not find the receptacle out on the deck anywhere. Was this a standard on this type boat and I am over looking the connection? Next is I see in the engine bay that there is a battery charger installed. I didnít see any connection to plug in to charge the batteries. Is this charger just for when the boat is running? The previous owner left the barrel switch on and itís been sitting for two years so Iím sure the batteries are done. I wanted to get juice so I can test the lights and electrical before I drop in new batteries and try and start the boat. Thanks for any help.
__________________

Jeremy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 07:40 PM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,415
Default

Welcome aboard

My 97’ 2400 only has 120VAC outlet in the cabin and none on deck. The battery charger is hardwired to the breaker panel and batteries. My shore power receptacle is on the port side midships.
__________________

__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 07:41 PM   #3
Admiral
 
Phillbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lake Powell
Posts: 1,239
Default

Do you have a storage locker on your stern? Thats were my shore power connector is located. It will be covered by a water proof flap. They could also be on the Port side about mid ship.

The battery charger will only work when plugged in to shore power...
Phillbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 08:11 PM   #4
Ensign
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks Iíll check those spots.
Jeremy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 11:08 PM   #5
Lt. Commander
 
jimq26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 199
Default

If you do a Google search for your year and model you'll find tons of photos in the images section showing the shore power receptacle(s).
jimq26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 12:11 AM   #6
Admiral
 
Phillbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lake Powell
Posts: 1,239
Default

Yeap... Port side mid ship....
Phillbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 11:20 PM   #7
Ensign
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Default

All thanks for the help I found it. I guess one of the previous owners didn’t use it or the housing broke and they just put a vent over the hole. I had to pull the access panel in the aft bunk room and pull it back up and out. Going to the parts store tomorrow to get a new housing. Again thanks for the help I would have never found it by myself.
__________________

Jeremy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
shore power connection

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×