Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2013, 12:58 AM   #1
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 95
Default GPS/Chartplotter mount

Can anyone with a 2000ish 2300 show how they mounted their depth finder. I'm trying to decide to mount on the lower part of the dash and partially block some gauges or try use a RAM mount and have it movable.
__________________

__________________
2001 Maxum 2300SC/5.7(250HP) Mercruiser Alpha One Gen 2
Jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 02:38 PM   #2
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,230
Default

What size and shape depth finder? About the only guage that is useless is the Speedo, and you should have one on yoru GPS that is signficantly more accurate than your current speedo. I'd block the speedo if I had a choice. Mine hasn't worked in years anyway. Besides who really need to route water up (in my case salt water) up to the dash anyway?) IMHO Tach., Water Temp., Oil Pressure and Volt Meter are critical.
__________________

shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 02:24 AM   #3
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 95
Default

Just a little Garmin 441s.
__________________
2001 Maxum 2300SC/5.7(250HP) Mercruiser Alpha One Gen 2
Jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 02:41 AM   #4
Lieutenant
 
1994Maxum2700SCR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bronx, NY (Long Island Sound)
Posts: 97
Default

Hey Jerry,
I just picked up a Garmin 441s recently and haven't installed mine yet but I don't think I have that problem.
hopefully I have the room between the dash and windshield but I don't know for sure. (1994 2700)
I'll take some pics of my setup once I install.
Shrew always gives good advice though, sounds like that'd be what I'd do, no point in having it on a RAM mount to see the speedo either. (my sensor always gets clogged with barnacles so never works anyway)

- Joe
__________________
1994 Maxum 2700 SCR - 7.4L - Bravo 2
We'll Sea...
1994Maxum2700SCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 02:42 PM   #5
Admiral

 
ss3964spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fairfax Va
Posts: 1,512
Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd
Default

Got some photos of your dash, Jerry?

I have a 541s (that I use only as a GPS) that I mounted high on the dash using the Garmin supplied mounting bracket.

IMO, you want to have your unit as high up/close to your line of sight as practicle. The screens on the 441's/541's aren't very large. I mounted my VHF radio low - about thigh/knee level (but the mic is up on the dash) but I wish it was higher up.

Dan
ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 01:21 AM   #6
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bourne, Ma.
Posts: 83
Default

Hi Jerry,
I have a 99 2300 scr and mounted a garmin 441s unit on top of the dash as close to the winsheild as it would fit. To the right of it I mounted my VHF. I did have to use a right angle drill to have the room to drill the mounting holes but once installed it worked out pretty good and did not block any of the guages.
Thought I had a pic but couldn't find it. One to follow soon.
good luck,
ccruser1
ccruser1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 11:01 AM   #7
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 95
Default

Here's a couple pictures.
http://share.shutterfly.com/action/w...ActmLZq4YuGjq4
__________________
2001 Maxum 2300SC/5.7(250HP) Mercruiser Alpha One Gen 2
Jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 03:19 PM   #8
Admiral

 
ss3964spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fairfax Va
Posts: 1,512
Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd
Default

Bummer, I see the dilemma. Possibly mount the Garmin supplied bracket on black section of the dash, above the arch where the Maxum logo is? Can't quite tell if there's enough space there behind the steering wheel. But if there is it looks like it would place the 441 high enough to not be blocked by the wheel, yet low enough to not block the gauges - all assuming you stand while underway.
ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 03:21 AM   #9
Lieutenant
 
1994Maxum2700SCR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bronx, NY (Long Island Sound)
Posts: 97
Default

My 2700 is a little different. Mine will be going to the top left of the gauge panel but I see that your step is in line with that spot that puts it in the way (I have a lot more free space there so I guess my advice is no help).

Is there enough room to the right of the cup holder? It looks like it will be tight there but that's the best advice I got.

- Joe
__________________
1994 Maxum 2700 SCR - 7.4L - Bravo 2
We'll Sea...
1994Maxum2700SCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 10:05 PM   #10
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 95
Default

Well, the speedometer lost the battle.
001.JPG
__________________

__________________
2001 Maxum 2300SC/5.7(250HP) Mercruiser Alpha One Gen 2
Jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.