Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2019, 04:17 PM   #1
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 50
Default 12V socket not working

My 12 Volt sockets are not working. They both went out at different times. Both times I had used an inverter and apparently the item I was plugging in was too much for it to handle. I though the fuse on the inverter would blow first but it did not. Now both of my 12 Volt sockets are not working.

I have a 2001 2500 SCR and believe the manufacturer had changed from a fuse panel to a breaker panel just below the helm. Can anyone confirm this? I tried pushing all of them back in and nothing worked.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I could do?
__________________

brineair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 04:56 PM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,011
Default

Do you have access to the back of the sockets? If so try tracing the wires to see where they go, may be a fuse or breaker. Are any of your breakers labeled Assy?
__________________

__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 06:05 PM   #3
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmwjr View Post
Do you have access to the back of the sockets? If so try tracing the wires to see where they go, may be a fuse or breaker. Are any of your breakers labeled Assy?
Nothing is labeled on the front. I will have to look when I am down at the boat again. Do you have an idea of what size and type of fuse it would be if any? Would love to grab one at store before I head down. Thanks again for your help!
brineair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 12:29 AM   #4
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,011
Default

I looked under Documents of this site a found a manual for a 2009, 2700SE which I believe is similar enough to yours and it shows the 12V socket on a 15 amp breaker.
__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 01:14 PM   #5
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmwjr View Post
I looked under Documents of this site a found a manual for a 2009, 2700SE which I believe is similar enough to yours and it shows the 12V socket on a 15 amp breaker.
Thanks for looking into that! I believe they are just push button breakers. So I would essentially just have to push them back in to get them to reset? However if Iíve done that and they are still not working, could that mean Iíve fried the 12V outlets and they need to be completely replaced? Do you have a link to that document of the 2009 2700 manual? Thanks again for your help.
brineair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 01:25 PM   #6
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,419
Default

There is often on inline fuse on the backside of the 12v receptical. Either a blown fuse or corroded contacts could be the culplrit. Remove the 12v receptacle and inspect the fuse and fuse holder.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 04:22 PM   #7
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,011
Default

Here you go

Maxum Boat Owners Club - Forum - Documents - Maxum 2700 SE Owners Manual (2009)
__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 08:12 PM   #8
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrew View Post
There is often on inline fuse on the backside of the 12v receptical. Either a blown fuse or corroded contacts could be the culplrit. Remove the 12v receptacle and inspect the fuse and fuse holder.
Thank you for your help! Any clue as to what size the inline fuse may be?
brineair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 01:52 PM   #9
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,419
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brineair View Post
Thank you for your help! Any clue as to what size the inline fuse may be?
It's a standard inline fuse. You can buy an assorted package of them, or remove the inline fuse and read the size on it. It depends on the size of the wiring and the draw of the device. I'd guess either 10 or 15 amp.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 02:38 PM   #10
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrew View Post
It's a standard inline fuse. You can buy an assorted package of them, or remove the inline fuse and read the size on it. It depends on the size of the wiring and the draw of the device. I'd guess either 10 or 15 amp.
Thank you!
__________________

brineair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
12 volt, 2500, breaker, fuse, scr

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.