Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2013, 10:38 PM   #1
Commander
 
9Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Port St Lucie, FL
Posts: 457
Default Fuel line clogged

The fuel pickup tube inside the fuel tank has a small screen in it. And this is what I found

Todd

Sent from my VS920 4G using Tapatalk 2
Attached Images
File Type: jpg uploadfromtaptalk1365629869147.jpg (24.4 KB, 68 views)
__________________

9Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 12:14 AM   #2
Ensign
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Yorkville, IL
Posts: 14
Default

Wow I'm going to check mine. Which hole did you go thru to get to it?
__________________

Scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 07:09 AM   #3
Ensign
 
No1hedberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 5
Default

Is that a mouse?
__________________
2001 Maxum 2100 SR
250 hp 5.7 Merc Alpha 1
Mercruiser Vengence SS 19P Prop
I love my Maxum
No1hedberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:04 PM   #4
Commander
 
9Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Port St Lucie, FL
Posts: 457
Default

I'll take some pictures tonight when I get home!

Its some trash that was in the fuel tank! Here's what was going on:

Cruising along at 3K RPM for about 30 min, eng started sputtering, Pulled back to 2500RPM and it would stop, Push back up to 3K rpm and it would sputter again, Headed back home at 2K rpm. Thinking that it was a fuel filter. I checked but nothing in the filter, so I checked the Fuel Pickup tube in the Fuel tank and found it was clogged. It was letting just enough fuel thru to run at lower RPM's but not at higher rpm's. I have a Clear inline Filter coming out of the Fuel tank. I cleaned the Screen in the pickup tube, installed a Inline Fuel Filter and a new Water/Fuel Filter. I will also change the Carb Filter this weekend. I also removed the Fuel level sending unit so I could inspect inside the Fuel tank but I didn't see any trash.

Todd
9Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 04:38 PM   #5
Commander
 
9Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Port St Lucie, FL
Posts: 457
Default

Here's the Pictures!

Todd

0411131054.jpg0411131055b.jpg0411131055b.jpg
9Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 01:30 PM   #6
Commander
 
9Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Port St Lucie, FL
Posts: 457
Default

Well.... That didn't fix the problem. went on a test run this weekend and the same issue, eng spits and sputters at 3K rpm, Pull it back to 2000 and it runs fine! so next is to pull the Carb and check the Float adjustment!

I'll take pic's if I find anything!

Todd
9Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 02:30 PM   #7
Admiral

 
ss3964spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fairfax Va
Posts: 1,512
Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd
Default

What carb is on it Todd?, Has the carb ever been apart? My guess would be the fuel lines or maybe even a weak fuel pump, before the carb float. Does it have a filter in carb inlet housing?
ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 05:39 PM   #8
Commander
 
9Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Port St Lucie, FL
Posts: 457
Default

It’s a quadrajet, and as far as I know it has never been apart. This Carb doesn't have a Filter in the inlet. I replaced the inline filter and the Water/fuel filter, cleaned out the Fuel pickup tube in the Tank.

I rebuilt this eng last fall and did run it for 2.5 hours before winterizing it. But I didn't run it at 3K rpm for longer than 5 min and didn't have a problem. I was thinking some gunk in the Carb or the Float was stuck or set too low.


0910121714.jpg0910121720.jpg0910121721.jpg

Todd
9Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 08:44 PM   #9
Admiral

 
ss3964spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fairfax Va
Posts: 1,512
Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd
Default

Judging from the first picture, I'm thinking if you re-connect them spark plug wires it might rev past 3K.

Joking aside, the second picture shows that the carb is not a QJ. Looks to me like it might be an Edlebrock Performer 1405 - or something close. Def not a QJ though. I don't know if the 1405's have an internal fuel filter.

I'm sure you've got the timing set right. Regardless, I still think I'd pull/inspect/replace all the rubber fuel lines before I opened the carb. You might also verify that the secondarys are working correctly; 3K ish is probably about where they should start opening up.

I don't crack a carb open until I've checked everything else. However, if that is a 1405 they are pretty easy to work on.

Dan
ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 01:51 AM   #10
Commander
 
9Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Port St Lucie, FL
Posts: 457
Default

Ok so now I am really confused, Here's the number on the carb 9661S 3203. Is this a Carter? 0415131843a.jpg0415131844b.jpg0415131846.jpg

Todd
__________________

9Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.