Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2015, 03:22 AM   #1
Ensign
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Blairsville, ga
Posts: 3
Default CD/Receiver replacement

Looking for suggestions..I have a JVC CD/Receiver in a 2002, 2100 SD that I need to replace. Issue that I have is that I would like to replace with a unit with close to the same footprint and can be controlled remotely from the existing controls in the dash. JVC says these units are no longer available. Newer models are now connected to an OEM supplied interface before the dash. Unit is mounted in an enclosure and wireless inferred would not work. I would rather not mount a wired remote to console. Suggestions?
__________________

Bass4me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 01:18 PM   #2
Ensign
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: virginia
Posts: 12
Default

I am looking into replacing by stereo this year also. Im looking into a a bluetooth unit where what is playing can be controlled by my android phone. I have also started looking at some Sony units that have a remote app for controlling the radio from the phone. Volume, source, etc can be controlled using the app. If anyone has one I would like to know how well it works.
__________________

fear knot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 02:38 PM   #3
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,616
Default

Welcome aboard Bass4me!!

Head units should use a standard size. Each mounting frame is unique, however the rough opening should all be the same.

NOTE: Moved thread from the 'Introductions' sub-forum to 'Electronics'.
__________________
Shhhhhh!!! Please lower your voice, the boat is sleeping.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2015, 01:55 AM   #4
Lt. Commander
 
0Gravity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 167
Default

I bought and installed this Kenwood unit a month ago. ... It is awesome for the price. ... You can't control the radio via the blue tooth but it syncs flawlessly with Iheart radio and Pandora.
0Gravity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2015, 01:56 AM   #5
Lt. Commander
 
0Gravity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 167
Default

I guess it would help to post the picture. ..loluploadfromtaptalk1428454586257.png
0Gravity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2015, 01:58 AM   #6
Lt. Commander
 
0Gravity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 167
Default

You can also get the wired remote for the dash or swim platform.
uploadfromtaptalk1428454681702.png
0Gravity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2015, 03:31 AM   #7
Lt. Commander
 
forbes210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 110
Default

I went with fusion MS-IP600. Great unit which is powered by my old iPod docked inside the unit. I added 2 wired remote controls and bluetooth antenna so I can play music via phone, computer etc. Unit is great and before I added amplifier and subwoofer I was running 4 polk audio speakers directly from this unit and it sounded great. Unit went into original cut out after factory JVC (maxum 2500 scr). I can browse content of the iPod from the unit and remote controls.

Marine Stereo for iPod (MS-IP600) | FUSION Entertainment
forbes210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 03:02 AM   #8
Ensign
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Blairsville, ga
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for all the feedback...
Bass4me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 08:58 PM   #9
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 61
Default

I just went to an auto parts store, and found a complete system that fits in one slot. I used the leftover wood pieces from mounting the original to block the rear of lower shelf to store CD's.
capn_billl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 04:31 AM   #10
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 36
Default

I went with a Sony head unit and remote. Like oil filters, everyone gravitates to a particular brand.

Marine CD Receiver - CDXH910UI Review | Sony Store U.S. - Sony US
__________________

__________________
Phil, Vicky, Ashleigh & Sydney
1998 3055

Life is short, boats are cool.
itsabowtime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« Switches | tv »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.