Old 08-09-2009, 10:20 PM   #1
Lt. JG

Send a message via AIM to jblack1036
Default worried about my outdrive

94 2400SCR.......350 alpha I..............I"ve been lurking around here but have never had any reasons to chime in as I am new to haveing my own boat but I have been around them all my life. There's always been great info to share and I absorb what I can but this one has me worried.....

Took the boat out today for some sun and fun. It was great, no problems on the water. She ran like a top. However, when I put her back on the trailer and pulled her out of the water, I have a steady stream of oil coming from the outdrive while it is in the trailor position. If I lower it, it doesn't seem to leak. But when it's up, it leaks pretty bad. I looked at my resivor under the deck where you would put the oil in and see that it is way down below the line.
I've seen a small amount of a leak from the rear while siiting in the yard but it looked to me like it was coming from the struts to raise and lower the unit. It has never been much at all until today. And it seems to be coming from up inside the unit from what I can see and tell.

Does anyone have any ideas or recomendation. Or do I have a costy service ahead of me???

Old 08-09-2009, 10:45 PM   #2
Admiral

Default Re: worried about my outdrive

welcome to the zoo....drives can be costly as hell...it's mainly the labor that makes it cost so much....well..that's what it seems like to me when I break something... ...ok..just kidding......

your not telling me if it's gear lube oil...or the light oil of the trim rams.....so...
if your talking about the rams leaking..then it's not so bad...they have a rebuild kit that repairs the rams and stops the leaks....