Old 02-05-2014, 04:39 PM   #1
Lt. Commander

Default wiring question

We recently purchased a 1998 maxum 2800 scr which is still in storage (Cleveland). anyway I have a few wiring projects coming up and was looking for a little input from the group here. I'm very comfortable with wiring for both 110 and 12v.
here's what I have in mind.

1. replace fish finder with new lowrance combo unit. can I run wires easily in the radar arch for the GPS puck?

2. fridge died and is out of the boat. thinking about putting a reg small 110 fridge in it's place. may have to cut cabinet a bit (cabinet builder by trade so no issues there) . I know it will only work with shore power but curious if anyone else has done this. Guessing there is a plug already there?

3. install small lcd tv. is it tough to run wire to the panel for 110 and possibly add a power inverter for 12v use? odds are it would be under the helm acrossed from the galley.

thanks for any info that may help.
Mark

Baby Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 04:51 PM   #2
Admiral

Someone with this model should be able to answer your questions but here is my input. Make sure to use stranded wire for both 110 and 12V runs and not house wire.

1. Should be able to do so. I suspect hardest part is running the antenna cable from bottom of arch to helm as access may be limited. May have access from mid-berth.
2. Old frig was probably dual volt, ran on 110 and 12V so wiring should be there. Issue reg frig draws more current as it has a compressor. Other issue is waste heat from compressor.
3. See opening statement

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 06:31 PM   #3
Admiral

Mark.... I have a 3000 which is close just one more engine.

1. Most of these combo units the gps have an internel antenna. I have one, its a garmin 431, works great. Why put up a antenna if you don't have to.