Go Back   Maxum Boat Owners Club - Forum > Maxum General > Maxum Owners General Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 01-07-2022, 03:53 PM   #1
Ensign

Default Stern drive Maxum

Hello all,

I’m trying to research and understand better ways to create separation when leaving docks and docking techniques. Generally trying to get a better understanding of my boat in general. I came across the subject of prop walk and how it can be used to your advantage when you understand it. I’m getting mixed reports whether or not there’s significant prop walk in single propeller, stern drive boats. I have a 1998 Maxum 2300SC. I’m still pretty new to boating and am trying to research better techniques for next boating season. Would my stern drive have any prop walk?.

Thanks all

Bigolbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2022, 10:23 PM   #2
Admiral

Yes any single engine with a single prop will have some prop walk. I find it best to experiment to see how the boat handles on a week day when it’s calm and no one is around. Then you can take you time to learn how your boat behaves to different throttle and wheel settings.

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2022, 11:03 PM   #3
Lt. Commander

It will depend on the type of drive you have. If you have a bravo 3 or other counter rotating duo prop drive then the opposing rotations will cancel out any prop walk. If you have an alpha or bravo then prop walk is proportional to the size of the prop.

We usually think of a prop as a screw that only thrusts forward. But because the blades are angled/pitched, there’s a thrust component that acts laterally like a waterwheel. It’s also usually more prominent in reverse because props aren’t as efficient running backward, so the lateral thrust vs axial thrust is slightly higher.