Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2014, 07:52 PM   #1
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 17
Default Shore power cord adapter

Howdy,

Does anybody know where to get a "Y" adapter for shore power cord? I need to plug into both inlet 1 and inlet 2 to run A/C and all other items. The only ones I can find are well over $150! Seems kinda pricey but then again, it is a boat!!

Chris
__________________

MonkeyBiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 09:27 PM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 8,229
Default

That's about what I have seen them go for. Special connectors,... $'s
__________________

__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 10:29 PM   #3
Admiral
 
biggerseagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 2,155
Default

B.O.A.T......means Break Out Another Thousand............

If you don't mind burning 20 dollar bills right in front of you............you're a boater!

All those types are pricey Chris....$150 00 is a bargain.....

Welcome to boating...

Roger
biggerseagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 12:26 AM   #4
Lt. Commander
 
dbriceno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Huntington, NY
Posts: 156
Default

Is your boat a single 50amp or twin 30 amp? A smart y converts 2-30 amp inputs from the pole to a single 50amp on the boat. These are quite expensive ($400+ for a new one). To convert 1-50amp from the pole to 2-30amp lines on the boat is much cheaper. Check the Marinco website to determine exactly what you need.
dbriceno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 01:30 AM   #5
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 17
Default

Looking to go from the 50a shore power cord to two 30a inlets on the boat in order to run AC and other items. Is this a typical setup for a boat with AC? I'm guessing I will have to be careful not to run too many things at once due to the amperage draw of both lines?
MonkeyBiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 11:34 AM   #6
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 8,229
Default

My 2400 has 2 30 amp; one for A/C and one for the rest. My boat came with two power cords as well as a Y splitter.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 01:24 PM   #7
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,920
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyBiz View Post
Looking to go from the 50a shore power cord to two 30a inlets on the boat in order to run AC and other items. Is this a typical setup for a boat with AC? I'm guessing I will have to be careful not to run too many things at once due to the amperage draw of both lines?
The options are typically 30am or 50 amp circuits. It is far more common to see multiple 30 amp, rather than a single 50amp. Many shorepower circuits on the dock are only 30amp. The manufacturers commonly places the AC on one circuit and the house on the other circuits on boats these size. Placing everything on one circuit would require a 50amp and would present challeges at many marinas.

Splitting a 30amp shoreconnection to 2 x 30amp connections with a Y-splitter is going to potentially limit what you can run concurrently. It is very doable, as I do it all the time. However, don't expect to run everything AND cycle the AC and fridge compressors at the exact same time. Otherwise go wtih 2 x 30 amp cords.
__________________

shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.