Old 07-21-2009, 05:35 PM   #1
Lt. JG

Default Newbie to board w/engine questions

I just recently joined the Maxum owners, have been a Glastron owner for several years but due to growing family finally bit the bullet and purchased a larger boat with cabin.
Previous owner was not too boat savvy and didn’t winterize last year so after about 100 hours of labor and several thousand dollars later the family and I spent our first weekend on the boat this past weekend (and LOVED it).
I was a mechanic for 18 years therefore elected to do the engine swap myself rather than pay a marine two arms and three legs to do the job for me.
Boat now has a remanufactured 7.4MPI long block with all new exhaust, tune up, water pump etc. etc. etc.
I write my first post to introduce myself and to ask if anyone else has the 7.4 MPI and any experience with running rich at idle, boat has a slight hesitation when just staring off around 1000-2000 RPM’s then will take off and run like a bat out of H_ LL. The running rich at idle and hesitation are the only two signs of this problem (knocking on wood).
Also here are a few pictures please give your reviews.

Thanks,
WR

Whiskey River is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 05:44 PM   #2
Lieutenant

Default Re: Newbie to board w/engine questions

Engine is distracted by bikini? :P

Sorry, no ideas from me. But anyone whose first post involves bikini pics is OK in my book. I am sure someone will jump in with something helpful.

BTW, I bet that thing does run like a bat out of h-ll w/ a 7.4 MPI.

Ticamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 05:51 PM   #3
Admiral