Old 07-02-2007, 02:04 AM   #1
Ensign

Default Hello Noob here!! Dumb question

Hello all !!! Ok i just bought a 2000 maxum sc 2300 the boat is in very good condtion just needs some waxing. last used summer of 05 sea trial passed. Problems found batteries dead no big deal depth gage works off and on i think it goes from reading depth to ---- lines i dont have a clue what the lines mean . speedo does not work horn dosnt work, and it needs a good waxing. the mechaninc says the boat has under 70 hrs how can i check?? where is the hr meter????? Do any of you have an answer to any of the above issues??? :?

bmazz007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 03:33 AM   #2
Admiral

howdy noobie!!...welcome to the zoo..first off ...lets talk about the amount of time on the boat...unless you have an hr meter or is an mpi engine...you not going to know how much time is on the engine..and unless the mech. knows the boat personally...then there is no way to know how much time is on a boat...usually in some maxums..they put the hr meters in the bottom of the speedo....or in the engine bay ..kinda obvious cuz there will be black and white numbers....

now for the speedo not working...look down on the the leading edge of the prop leg..there is this little hole there...run a wire in there and try and clear the foul that is in there....if you can...use a long 1/4 inch dia. drill bit and try and clear the foul....up at the joint there is a small black hose that attaches to the leg..that's where the problem can be...if you can't clear the hole....when you drop the leg to replace the impeller ..you can clean the hole out then.....