Old 07-30-2020, 11:37 PM   #1
Ensign

Unhappy fuel smell

I had my 3100SE out yesterday and whilst cruising up the river at 8 knots i kept getting a smell of fuel, i would then turn on the blower and it would stop but then come back 10-15 minutes later, Im new to boating so was wondering if its normal at low speed or should you never be able to smell any fumes at all?

Lee75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 01:03 AM   #2
Admiral

Fuel smells on a boat are bad juju.... Find the source and fix it...

What kind of engines? Year?

Phillbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 02:12 AM   #3
Ensign

Hey mate, its a 2006 with 5.0 mercruisers
Old 07-31-2020, 02:17 AM   #4
Admiral

Do you only smell gas when the engines are running? If not either a fuel line or the tanks is leaking. If only when running try running one engine at a time to see which one is causing it.

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 05:31 AM   #5
Ensign

ive never noticed the smell when its not running, but ill try running one at a time,
Old 07-31-2020, 12:17 PM   #6
Admiral

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee75 View Post
ive never noticed the smell when its not running, but ill try running one at a time,
Then it’s probably not the fuel tank or fill hose but is limited to the engine fuel supply hose or carb issue.

Mike
Old 07-31-2020, 03:26 PM   #7
Lt. JG

Wondering why you don't run the blower all the time? I do.
Huuligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 05:48 PM   #8
Admiral

Quote:
Originally Posted by Huuligan View Post
Wondering why you don't run the blower all the time? I do.
You shouldn’t need to. The blower is to evacuate and fumes prior to starting a gas engine. If fumes are accumulating while running you have an issue that needs to be resolved.

Mike
Old 07-31-2020, 06:39 PM   #9
Lt. JG

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmwjr View Post