Old 06-30-2008, 01:57 AM   #1
Ensign

Default docking

I am new to powerboating.
I love my 1993 Maxum 23SCR.
I am, however, embarrassed to say that I am terrible at docking the boat.

My boat has a single stern drive and my docksite is a slip where I have to turn into it(from the starboard) like a car taking a right hand turn into a parking space.

I find that despite multiple trials of docking the boat, the landing is always rocky and always involves cursing and trauma to the boat.

It feels like a catch 22:
The maneuverability of the boat at slow speeds stinks, in neutral you loose the helm altogether(the curse of the stern drive), yet when approaching the dock even at the slowest "in gear" speed it always seems as if I am coming in to fast.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

enivalg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 03:46 PM   #2
Lt. Commander

Location: Commuting weekly from South Central Idaho. Got Water?

Practice, practice, practice.

I have nearly the same boat (2300SC) size and it is a bit bigger than my last (21' open bow). I had same fears and problems. Over time (and hopefully with minimal damage), you will get the skills. Then confidence will follow.

"If you look like your passport photo, you probably need the trip"
Mad Max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 04:34 PM   #3
Commander

Default Docking

Do what I do: prior to entering the marina, completely wrap your boat with bubble packing. Wrap it at least ten times. This gives you about 4 inches of bubble wrap protectant. Mind not, the people laughing and pointing at you, as they will be quite impressed as you pull a 180 sliding turn into your dock at warp speeds.

Or,

Try try again. Yesterday was the first day on the boat that I had a totally relaxed docking experience. My tip as a new boater myself??? Put someone with a pole on the bow and someone on the stern, take it really slow and dont be afraid to do it again and again (and againand again).

Rich