Go Back   Maxum Boat Owners Club - Forum > Maxum General > Maxum Owners General Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 09-02-2020, 07:36 PM   #1
Ensign

Default Buying - what to look for?

Hi guys, i put in for the Facebook group but haven't had the acceptance yet.

Anyway, I'm going to look at a 1996 2400SCR on Friday/Saturday - out of water. I've been told it has a new 5.7 long block a couple years ago, but don't yet have much more information. He said the hot water tank needs to be replaced along with batteries, but I don't think I'll get much more info until I'm there.

I was curious of the things I can check out while on the trailer and with no batteries (yes, I'm already worried in my head). Obviously the cosmetic stuff will stand out, but any major and or this boat specific I should pay attention to?

If this helps any, I have never had a boat. I am a pretty good auto mechanic, rebuilt and rewired my jetski trailer, have done most of the renovation in my house, so overall I'm handy and not scared of much but also smart enough to research anything before I get in to it (hence me being here)

I am trading off 2 seadoo spark jet skis that I don't ride enough (had a baby in December) so my worst fear is handing over some great skis for a nightmare.

LaxCoach6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2020, 07:41 PM   #2
Admiral

Obviously don't close a deal until he puts in at least a starting battery and you get to take it for a cruise. Is the hot water tank leaking or just not getting hot? Replacing it is not that big of a job, should be 6 gallon tank.

Look at maintenance logs if he has any but plan for a full annual tune up and maybe even a new set of bellow.

Phillbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2020, 08:30 PM   #3
Ensign