Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2018, 11:12 PM   #1
Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 510
Default Am I crazy? Transducer replacement

Iím really thinking that the transducer for my fish finder has died. Whether itís the cable or the actual transducer doesnít really matter, as you canít cut and splice the wire.
I have this thru hull transducer.
https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F132669068255
How crazy do you think it is to change that brass transducer in the water? I have a friend on the inside knock the old one out, keep his hand over the hole while I come up for a breath, and then pull the new cord and transducer into place. I have two working bilge pumps and can put the boat in like four feet of water with a sandy bottom. I think it just seals with orings, so no worry about sealant curing.
__________________

speedysprocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2018, 11:29 PM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 8,227
Default

Considering that the blue fairing block need to be shaped to fit the bottom I would not do what you are thinking. Besides the amount of water that could come in that hole is more that the pumps could handle.
__________________

__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2018, 11:33 PM   #3
Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 510
Default

I already have that faring on my hull. All I need to do is replace the brass transducer insert.
speedysprocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 12:09 AM   #4
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 8,227
Default

None the less I would not do it with my boat.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 12:54 AM   #5
Commander
 
Gugi47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Lancaster, PA.
Posts: 346
Default

I'm with Mike on this. If anything go wrong and your boat go in the bottom of the 4 feet water, you will flood the engine and everything up to 4 feet....or how deep will go. I would pay to take the boat out, instal the transducer and back in water.
__________________
If they respect you, respect them. If they disrespect you, still respect them. Do not allow the action of others to decrease your good manner, because you represent yourself not others.
-2001 Maxum 2100 SR2 Sport -1997 Regal 258 Commodore (Sold)
Gugi47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 01:31 AM   #6
Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 510
Default

Ok ok
speedysprocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 03:12 PM   #7
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,920
Default

Technically, there is a plug that you can use to insert into the hole when getting hauled out. It's designed to protect the transducer from the lifting straps. You gotta be quick about it. Would I do it? Heck no!!
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 03:13 PM   #8
Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 510
Default

The plug is just to pull the speedo wheel out to clean that.
speedysprocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 03:14 PM   #9
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,920
Default

BTW, I believe the transducer is removed from the inside, not the outside.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 05:06 PM   #10
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 8,227
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrew View Post
BTW, I believe the transducer is removed from the inside, not the outside.
Not the style he has the link to in post 1.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 11:05 PM   #11
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 225
Default

Man I'm getting nervous just reading this thread.
One wrong unforeseen hiccup could mean disaster!
Just not worth it.
That water comes in with far more force than you would expect. A Little panic sets in along with some type of issue. Ouch.
I'm guessing the boat is too large to be pulled out with a trailer or you would just do that.
Baby Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 11:14 PM   #12
Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 510
Default

Itís a 3200 and I donít own a trailer, so I have to go pay to haul it.
speedysprocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 11:16 PM   #13
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 8,227
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedysprocket View Post
Itís a 3200 and I donít own a trailer, so I have to go pay to haul it.
Cheaper than pulling her off the bottom.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 11:22 PM   #14
Commander
 
Gugi47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Lancaster, PA.
Posts: 346
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedysprocket View Post
Itís a 3200 and I donít own a trailer, so I have to go pay to haul it.
Any marina can take he out on the dry land. And they wary on price to. Search around before you jump in. In your sleep have a marina to? They should give you a good deal.
__________________
If they respect you, respect them. If they disrespect you, still respect them. Do not allow the action of others to decrease your good manner, because you represent yourself not others.
-2001 Maxum 2100 SR2 Sport -1997 Regal 258 Commodore (Sold)
Gugi47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 11:24 PM   #15
Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 510
Default Am I crazy? Transducer replacement

I can get it hauled by fork lift for $50, but itís like 1/2 hour each way and they always seem annoyed with my big boat.
But Iíll just do that.
speedysprocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2018, 12:18 AM   #16
Ensign
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: MD
Posts: 4
Default

I would do it in the water. Just have a plug ready and something to wedge behind it if you need to walk away for a minute. It’s not like a firehose or something.

I replaced my impellers in water and just plugged the hose, same idea here. Just have everything you need right next to you and it will be fine. Adrenaline is good for you.
Charlestown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2018, 12:23 AM   #17
Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 510
Default

It does all look easy in my head, but knowing my old boat, something would get stuck or break.
speedysprocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2018, 12:23 AM   #18
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 49
Default

Walk the docks, find another 3200 and talk with the owner about helping if they have a trailer. Lots out there.
dannyrayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2018, 12:25 AM   #19
Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 510
Default

Ha, while every slip is full, there is rarely another person around. Only two other comparable boats, but the owners are both scarce... This one Regal would be a nice boat, but hasnít moved in the three years Iíve been there. You could have a few meals with all the oysters growing on it...!
speedysprocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2018, 12:46 AM   #20
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 225
Default

These are nice to clamp off a hose for impeller etc. if you have to do it in the water.
Good on automotive. Heater core etc.
BB
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_4979.JPG  
__________________

Baby Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.