Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2011, 11:13 PM   #1
Ensign
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: deltaville va.
Posts: 13
Default 46 foot maxum refrigerator?

Hey there folks. The wife and I purchased a 46 Maxum. she is in pretty good shape she just needs a little TLC. Refrigerator is not cooling. The green light is on but she's not getting cold. Any advice? Or toss it and get a new. Thanks Jimmy
__________________

hammer time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 11:32 PM   #2
Admiral

 
seapuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Everett Wa
Posts: 4,681
Default

jimmy
welcome to the zoo...if it's the upright standard type of fridge..they can be repaired...it obviously has to come out..if the light is on...then it's getting power....I believe there is an inline fuse that is located in the back side of the fridge...I'd check there....now if it's just an old fridge...It might be advantagious to get a new one that fits that dimension....
hopefully one of our bigger boaters will chime in......

SP
__________________

__________________
Don't compare your life to others. You have no idea what their journey is all about.
------------------------
SSN683 Association member
Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
--------------------------------------
I live in my own little world....but it's okay-they know me here!!!

Avid practitioner of the martial art: KLIK-PAO.
Tap-Rack-Bang

Anyone that sez "Size doesn't matter" has never owned a boat!
seapuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 12:07 AM   #3
Ensign
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: deltaville va.
Posts: 13
Default

thanks. jimmy
hammer time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 12:38 AM   #4
Captain
 
pascavone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Massapequa, New York, United States
Posts: 762
Default

you do know that the refrigrator will run off of your 12v batteries, when not connected to shore power.

If your pluged into shore, check the ref breaker in the main panel and then see if it cools.

It might just be on stand by if your 12v batteries are low, us'in in the 30 foot class got those fancy meat coolers too!
pascavone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 12:57 AM   #5
Captain
 
pascavone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Massapequa, New York, United States
Posts: 762
Default

not to change topics, but an curious what boat you came from before buying the maxum?

up or down in size, and what maker? What year is your 46?
Is a 46 an ocean going vessel?

this 42 they cannot give away, been listed over a year.

http://newyork.craigslist.org/lgi/boa/2661771085.html
pascavone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 01:37 AM   #6
Ensign
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: deltaville va.
Posts: 13
Default

I am a Marine contractor. And all of my boats push big barges. So if it doesn't have an excavator with piling and rock on it I'm in the dark. I guess you could say for my personal boat I have got a 26 6 World cat. Thanks for the info I have tried everything AC and DC. I'll have another look and see if I've missed anything. the boat we purchased is a 2000 model. And I guess you could say she is an ocean going vessel not a lot of range she only holds 419 gallons of fuel. Sad but true it is a buyers market for boats specially big ones we got a really good deal on her. Jimmy
hammer time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 03:43 PM   #7
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,918
Default

46 Ft Maxum Refrigerator??!!! WOW that is a BIG Fridge!!

JK, Welcome aboard.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 04:00 AM   #8
Ensign
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Default

I pulled the Norcold and replaced it with a 5.9 cu/ft Sanyo. The Sanyo is frost-free, has a light in it, cools better, has lasted twice as long as the Norcold and cost 1/4 the price.

Brian
brianwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 01:29 PM   #9
Ensign
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: deltaville va.
Posts: 13
Default

Hey there, thanks for the info. Where did you get your Sanyo? I'm thinking about replacing my NorCold with something else. Did you have to do any modifying?

Jimmy
hammer time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 02:13 PM   #10
Admiral
 
biggerseagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 2,155
Default

Welcome to the web.............I had a friend that replaced his Norcold with a Tundra brand.....He got it off E-Bay maybe another option..........

http://www.dometicenviro.com/mariner...tor/frige.html


Good Luck

Roger
biggerseagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 03:31 AM   #11
Ensign
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Default

I got the Sanyo online from Costco for under $200. That was about 7 years ago and I haven't had any trouble with it.

Brian
brianwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 02:26 AM   #12
Ensign
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: deltaville va.
Posts: 13
Default

Hey thanks for the info. Jimmy
__________________

hammer time is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.