Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2020, 12:30 AM   #1
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 8
Default 110 outlet

I have a Maxum 3000scr and can't seem to get 110 out of the outlet in above the sink. Volt meter test at under 12v ac. Any ideas
__________________

jcarpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 01:12 AM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 8,211
Default

Welcome aboard

Are you on shore power or running a generator? Breakers turned on?

Not sure I understand the voltmeter being set to 12VAC when trying to measure 110VAC.
__________________

__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 01:25 AM   #3
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 8
Default

I'm on shore power, but I tried the gen also, breaker is on, breaker labeled receptacle. What I was saying about the meter is, it was set to 200vac but only showed I had under 12vac. crazy right?
jcarpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 01:37 AM   #4
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 8,211
Default

Ok shore power breaker and receptacle breaker on but only getting 12VAC. So have you plugged a lamp in to see if it works? Have you verified there is 110VAC at the pier receptacle? May also be a bad connection; shore power plug, boat wiring,..
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 01:42 AM   #5
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 8
Default

Ya, plugged in a TV. Everything else works OK but no 110 at the outlets. Did plugged an adapter in to the shore power cord and TV into that, worked OK.
jcarpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 01:48 AM   #6
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 8,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcarpie View Post
Ya, plugged in a TV. Everything else works OK but no 110 at the outlets. Did plugged an adapter in to the shore power cord and TV into that, worked OK.
I would pull the power panel and measure at the breaker. This will tell you which direction to go to track down the issue. How many outlets are there and they all measure the same? What other 110VAC items work? Microwave?
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 01:19 PM   #7
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 8
Default

2 110 outlets, one in the galley and one in the rear berth. Everything else works
jcarpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 02:22 PM   #8
Lt. Commander
 
jimq26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 223
Default

I know that I installed GFI receptacles on every plug in receptacle on my 1990 2755 for safety, and perhaps you might have one on that receptacle that has tripped?
jimq26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 03:45 PM   #9
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 8,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcarpie View Post
2 110 outlets, one in the galley and one in the rear berth. Everything else works
The frig is dual volt, runs on either 12VDC or 110VAC so if itís not getting proper AC voltage it will default to DC power. So are you sure other AC power items are working? These would be microwave, air conditioning and the frig; everything else uses 12VDC.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 05:12 PM   #10
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 65
Default

One of your outlets should have a GFI. Make sure it hasn't popped or maybe it is bad.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
sph801 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2020, 10:30 AM   #11
Commander
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 258
Default

On my 3000 there is a third outlet in the storage compartment in the head. It's also the primary GFI and may be tripped. They are all daisy chained from the one GFI
jparsons121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2020, 12:11 AM   #12
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 8
Default

Microwave, ac all work, GFI is not popped
jcarpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2020, 01:28 AM   #13
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 8,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcarpie View Post
Microwave, ac all work, GFI is not popped
Ok that helps. The issue is definitely isolated to the receptacle circuit. I would pull the power panel and measure the voltage at both sides of the breaker to start with.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 03:39 AM   #14
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Marin County, California
Posts: 64
Default

I had a bad GFI galley outlet last year on my 2400 SCR that never popped but just failed. Replaced and all OK now.
Calguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 11:21 PM   #15
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 8
Default 110 issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calguy View Post
I had a bad GFI galley outlet last year on my 2400 SCR that never popped but just failed. Replaced and all OK now.
Thanks everyone, problem solved.
jcarpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 12:30 AM   #16
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 8,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcarpie View Post
Thanks everyone, problem solved.
So donít leave us hanging, what was the issue?
__________________

__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.