Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2011, 01:43 PM   #1
Ensign
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 8
Default Help - 3100se, 2005 model - helm switches

Hi

Does anyone know if i can get hold of a replacement helm switch as our blower switch broke over the weekend!

Im uk based in Portsmouth not many spares places i can find over here

Thanks
__________________

StuzM5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 02:41 PM   #2
Lt. Commander
 
Cymru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Posts: 247
Default

StuzM5, you can get stuff shipped from America in a few days. It's not a big deal. One of the places to try is Lake Union Searay. http://www.lakeunionsearay.com These guys were recommended to me by Sea Puppy and were great. Guys name is Jim. Phone is +1 (425) 347-6000. They are on the west coast so it’s -8 from UK time. Some toher places around too including greatlakesskipper.com.

Good luck.
__________________

Cymru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 03:05 PM   #3
Ensign
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 8
Default

Great, thanks for the quick reply - i'll drop them an email to see what they can do

Thanks again
StuzM5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 03:06 PM   #4
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Liberty Lake, WA... moored on Beautiful Coeur D' Alene Lake, ID
Posts: 199
Default

I found these from a company in Florida... don't know if they'll ship internationally but their prices appear great; http://www.randryachtservice.com/ser...HES/Categories
__________________
Jeff Means
jeffmeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 03:13 PM   #5
Ensign
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 8
Default

Great thanks Jeff, i'm trying to replace the busted one to match though as its in a bank of a dozen or so other toggle switches if that makes sense. Those look like rocker switches not the same style as whats fitted, did you replace the toggle switches then? - Faria make the gauges not sure who supplied the switches of if other Maxum models use similar, these sit just below the gauges on the helm and control various things such as the blower, lights and the like

Cheers

Stu
StuzM5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 04:25 PM   #6
Admiral

 
ss3964spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fairfax Va
Posts: 1,512
Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd
Default

I think your best bet would be to consult the parts manual for your boat. find the P/N, contact US. Marine (see sticky) and see if the part is still availble.

Otherwise, pull one of the switches to see if you can identify the manufacturer and P/N, then see if you can track it down from there.

The toggles on my boat, aluminum shafts with little lights in the ends, would probably be impossible to find.

Dan
ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 05:09 PM   #7
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Liberty Lake, WA... moored on Beautiful Coeur D' Alene Lake, ID
Posts: 199
Default

StuzM5;
I don't have ANY toggle switches, and found these guys because I wanted to replace some of the generic-looking switches I have with a red one for horn, a wiper icon for the wiper switch, bilge icon, etc... Haven't purchased them yet but have kept their website as a favorite on my laptop. It's one of the projects I'll probably be doing next month. Here's a picture of MY dash, left-hand side (2001 model year 2900 SCR, single 6.2L BIII)... as you can see, I've got nothing but these rocker-type switches.
__________________
Jeff Means
jeffmeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 11:15 AM   #8
Ensign
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for the info guys

Mine are toggle type with the little light in the ends i guess that altho mine is a 3100se they must have used the same switches in other models also of the same period

Chances of getting one must be remote so if not will have to look at replacing all the others to match

Cheers again

Stuz
StuzM5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 01:02 PM   #9
Admiral

 
ss3964spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fairfax Va
Posts: 1,512
Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd
Default

Stuz,

Take a picture of one of yours and post it here. Am curious if yours are the same as mine.

For instance, the parts catalog for my 2004 MY 2400 SC3 lists the PN for the 2 position (on/off) toggle switch as 1706122.

The actual description is: "1706122 SWITCH, SPST LIGHTED TOGGLE AMBER".

Actually, I got a little curious so I checked for you. Indeed, the parts catalog for your 2005 3100 SE lists the same part number, 1706122, used on your boat Stuz. In fact, it was also used on at least one Bayliner model in 2005, the Rendezvous 249.

So there's at least three boat models using the same switch. Now all you need to do is start calling some dealers.

Regards,

Dan

Dan
ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 07:17 PM   #10
Ensign
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 8
Default

Cheers Dan, appreciated

I will be on the boat over the weekend so will take a close up piccie and post it but that description sounds like the right one to me

Great forum by the way, really helpful especially as theres not much support for Maxum in the UK that i can find - shame as we love the boat having had her for 4 years or so now!
StuzM5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 07:31 PM   #11
Admiral

 
ss3964spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fairfax Va
Posts: 1,512
Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd
Default

My pleasure Stuz.

If you find that you can only source them from a US supplier but they won't ship to the UK just let me know - I'll get them over to you.

It'll only cost you a boat ride the next time I happen to be in the UK.

Regards,

Dan
ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 12:04 PM   #12
Ensign
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 8
Default

You are on with that, cheers

So long as you bring the weather with you!!!!!
StuzM5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 01:46 PM   #13
Lt. Commander
 
Cymru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Posts: 247
Default

Looks like you've already got the weather Stuz. I talked to my family back home and they said the weather has been perfect the last few days.

I'll give you the same offer as Dan but I'll be in Portsmouth in a months time on my way over to Bilbao. If you're anywhere close to Brittany Ferries on Wharf Road, I could meet you and drop one off. ;-)
Cymru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 11:56 AM   #14
Ensign
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks, appreciated.

I've now been down to her over the weekend and taken some pictures - having trouble uploading them at the mo tho!

I've also checked out the part numbers, its part no. 1693444 being a switch,DPST ISOL toggle amber. Its the blower switch that needs replacing.

Have contacted Lake union searay as suggested by email no reply, any other suggestions guys?

Cheers

Stu
StuzM5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 04:30 AM   #15
Lt. JG
 
katsal2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 26
Default

http://www.maxumcustomercare.com/catalogs_index.html
katsal2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 02:57 PM   #16
Admiral

 
ss3964spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fairfax Va
Posts: 1,512
Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd
Default

Stu,

Odd, the two position switches on mine are all the same - even for the blower.

After reading of your switch failure I decided to order some extras - just in case. Email a couple of photo of yours to me at daniel.holderness@verizon.net and I'll compare against what I now have in stock. I'll also call the place I got mine from and see if he has a 1693444 switch available. If he does I'll have him send one to me, which I will then forward.

Dan
ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 07:39 PM   #17
Admiral

 
ss3964spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fairfax Va
Posts: 1,512
Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd
Default

It's been ordered Stu, I should have it in a couple of days.

Will advise.

Dan
ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 02:01 PM   #18
Admiral

 
ss3964spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fairfax Va
Posts: 1,512
Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd
Default

Switch arrived yesterday Stu, crappy mobile phone photo below.

Will run to the PO this afternoon to get it dispatched.

DanClick image for larger version

Name:	Switch.JPG
Views:	13
Size:	874.9 KB
ID:	1208
ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 04:00 PM   #19
Admiral

 
ss3964spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fairfax Va
Posts: 1,512
Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd
Default

Has been sent via Air Mail, Stu, though they cannot state when it will actually arrive.

Could be a week, perhaps two. Do let me know when you receive it!

Regards,

Dan
ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 04:05 PM   #20
Ensign
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 8
Default

Hi Dan

Thanks very much mate, well done really appreciated.

I'll let you know as soon as it turns up

Cheers

Stu
__________________

StuzM5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.