Go Back   Maxum Boat Owners Club - Forum > Maxum Specific > Sport Cruisers
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 01-23-2019, 01:24 AM   #1
Ensign

Default Fuel Tank Condition

Hi All,

I am new to Maxums, in fact owning a boat in general. I'm an engineer on larger luxury motor yachts, hence my fairly large first leap into boat ownership. Nothing by halves hey. I am currently in the process of buying a 2005 Maxum 2900 SE. I am getting a full pre-purchase survey undertaken and have been sent a few pictures by the current owner. The boat looks beautiful and extremely well maintained but I noticed what looks like some corrosion on the fuel tank (or what of it I can see from the engine bay).

I have (hopefully) attached a picture, I'm not sure if you'll be able to make out what I am talking about but the aluminium tank at the top of the picture looks to be a bit corroded. I can't make out whether some of what I see is some kind of tape/cladding or all corrosion.

As Owners, is corrosion of the tank an issue?

Many thanks,

Chris
Attached Thumbnails
Fire Suppression extinguisher.jpg  

Chris Bruff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 02:58 AM   #2
Admiral

Welcome aboard

Not the best picture for getting a good look at the tank but there does appear to be some corrosion. Most fuel tanks fail on the bottom where water gets trapped. You can perform a pressure test on the tank to see if it’s leaking but I would go in thinking the tank may need to be replaced in a few years. This is a big job and the engines need to come out to do so.

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 02:42 PM   #3
Ensign

Hi Mike,

Thanks for your input, and yes, I was thinking the same. The thought of replacing the tank doesn't overly concern me as I have had to do the same with one of the Tenders to the vessel on which I work. Although it's very different when its somebody else's money you're spending.