Old 05-21-2021, 01:23 AM   #1
Lt. Commander

Default Battery keeps dying

Hello,

So new to me 01 2400SCR. This is my first time having a boat with shore power. It's all hooked up correct. Breakers are on for battery charger. Everything 120v wise works fine. But tonight, the battery only had 8.9v in it for some reason. The bottom green light is on for the battery charger, so I think that is working correctly. I'm guessing something is obviously drawing the power, but I would think that needs to be a hell of a draw that the charger can't overcome it. So question....should I be putting the battery selector switch to OFF every time I leave the boat? I used to have to do this on an 1800sr3 I had. The only real new addition is a Raymarine Axium 9. Any thoughts where i need to start here? Battery is 2 weeks old and is a starter/Deep cell combo battery.

Thanks!!!

viper12161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2021, 11:33 AM   #2
Admiral

The green light just tells you the charger is getting power and nothing about it’s output. You need to use a voltmeter to actually measure it’s output to be sure it’s working. To determine the source of the power draw use an amp meter on the batteries positive cable to see how much current is being drawn when the boat is shut down as you leave it. Then try pulling fuses to see if you can find the source but see if the current draw goes down. I always turn my switch off when not using the boat.

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2021, 12:43 PM   #3
Lt. Commander