Old 06-03-2015, 03:16 PM   #1
Ensign

Default Water for Porta Potty ?

Just got this 2003 Maxum 2400 SR and Im new to boating so pardon mt ignorance. I just installed a new Porta Potty with the the pump out connections. How do I get water to the toilet. Is the a shut off valve somewhere on the incoming water line?

sdrdermdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 03:28 PM   #2

Welcome aboard "sdrdermdr"

Could you elaborate on what was there before and what you've replaced it with? A manual pump electric flush head would have a through hull with a pick up and a seacock (shutoff valve). The seacock would be connected directly to the through hull somewhere on the hull, typically near the keel and at least midship to astern somewhere. This would have a hose running into the head.

The water inlet should have a hose right there in the head somewhere. If the previous porta-pottie you removed did not have such a connection, then you will need to install one.

I would not hook the freshwater directly to the head as a workaround. These systems should be separate.

shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 04:17 PM   #3
Admiral

welcome aboard

I agree with shrew thread title says porta potty but you seem to be describing a marine toilet. A marine toilet would use raw water that is supplied by a thru hull most likely located in the engine compartment.

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 04:58 PM   #4
Admiral

My Vacuflush head gets it water from the fresh water tank.
Phillbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 01:40 AM   #5
Lieutenant

My 2100sd has a pump out ports Potti. The water to flush is store in the toilet upper half.
After use, a few pumps puts water in the bowl then pull the handle and it "flushes" to the bottom half of the toilet.....

When the bottom is full, it pumps out through a deck fitting like a real toilet ��

In the back corners on the top, one corner has a cap on the water fill, the other has the pump.