Go Back   Maxum Boat Owners Club - Forum > Maxum Specific > Sport Boats
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 06-04-2014, 05:42 PM   #1
Ensign

Default Do I "need" Mercruiser oil and filters?

I am new to the boating world and I was just at the dealership and of course they want to sell you Mercruiser brand everything. My boat is a 2003 Maxum 1900SR with 4.3. Can I just go get a filter for a Chevy 4.3 from the auto parts store? Another question, I checked my oil after running the boat for 3 hours and it still looks like I poured it right out of the bottle. Shouldnt it have turned black? Car engine oil does, so I dont get it...
Thanks in Advance for all advise..
Bruce

Woodsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 06:31 PM   #2
Admiral

Bruce first welcome to the website.........

There can be two thoughts on all this. Should I go with the brand name products or find as cheap as possible?

Doing your own oil change on your size engine can be a breeze and save you lots of money. Or let the dealership do everything and spend the extra for peace of mind.

I do most of my maintence that I can handle. The pulling off the drives and inside the engine I let the dealer do.

As far as using Merc brand I try to use most times. Sierra is a good brand also and for the most a couple bucks cheaper.

Oil, I use Merc or Quicksilver brand. The price of oil is such that you are paying just a few pennies more for the Merc brand so why not.

Go on ebay and find deals on all this. I buy filters by the case, much cheaper that way. Oil by the gallon and outdrive fluid by the 5 gallon.

And no your oil should stay clear for the most part. That means you have a clean engine, so keep up the good work!

Hope d I have helped!

Roger

biggerseagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 06:35 PM   #3
Ensign