Old 05-19-2014, 08:12 AM   #1
Ensign

Default Dinged Prop

OK so I was out at the weekend on my Maxum 1800MX, just chilling on the Loch as we had some nice weather (I know rare for Scotland!) going slow around an island I go round very regularly and by slow I mean about 4-5mph. Suddenly there is a crunch and bumps, immmediately stop and lift the leg up to inspect and notice there is some prop damage and a small chunk out one of the blades. I rounded the island and headed to check out if it was planing properly and running to speed with no odd vibrations and everything felt fine. However I probably should replace the prop and looking for advice. I use the boat for general crusing, towing toys, skiing and wakeboarding and it appears with the number of blades and pitch I am spoilt for chocie, but being a newbie I have no idea what is the correct prop for me. I would appreciate advice please, and not the kind of advice to "not drive over rocks". If anyone can let me know what propellers I should be looking at that would be great.

Still annoyed at dinging it as i drive around that island all the time and always stay a set distance away as i know there are shallow bits. No idea where this rock came from. Also anything else I should check??

chrisareid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 11:45 AM   #2
Admiral

chrisareid, we all have found bottom at one time and will do so again it's part of boating. Check the skeg (fin on the bottom of the leg (outdrive) for damage.

Others will help on best prop for your boat and activities. Mecruiser has a prop calculator tool on their site.

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 02:17 PM   #3

Here is your best bet:

http://www.mercurymarine.com/propellers/prop-selector/
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 03:40 PM   #4
Ensign

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrew View Post