Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2018, 12:58 PM   #1
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 12
Default Depth Gauge

Hi!

I have a question on the deapth gauge on my 2000mod Maxum 1900sr.

It seems to work and gives out alarmes, and show depth when i start,
but not as i am moving, is that the way it is supposed to work.

And if it is that way, can i somehow make it tell me the depth all the time.

I am using an app on my pad atm, and Navionics works nice, but would be good to be safer on depth.

Thx for any help
__________________

stein.torbergsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 01:09 PM   #2
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,661
Default

At what speed does the depth gauge stop registering?
__________________

shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 03:10 PM   #3
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 12
Default

It just shows a little while when i start, then it just shows -- as i remember.
stein.torbergsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 04:13 PM   #4
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,615
Default

Is the transducer mounted internally to the bottom of the hull or externally on the transom?

The -- is the sign of loss of bottom reflection.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 06:41 PM   #5
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stein.torbergsen View Post

It seems to work and gives out alarms, and show depth when i start,
but not as i am moving, is that the way it is supposed to work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by stein.torbergsen View Post
It just shows a little while when i start, then it just shows -- as i remember.
Would it be possible to clarify? One reply states it works, but not when you're moving. The other says it works when you start but then stops.

Which is it? IS there a specific amount of time, or a specific speed that it stops working? When you say start, do you mean 'start the engine'? or do you mean when you start moving?

We're not there to see it, so we're relying on your detailed description of the scope and nature of the problem.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 09:23 PM   #6
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 12
Default

Hi!

It is not working every time i turn it on, and when it works it shows the depth for a short time and after it just shows --, i dnt think it ever stayed on longer than a few sec maby a min.

The trancducer is placed inside the hull, and atm i have the engine out so its easy to get to it.

If -- is loss of bottom reflection, and i am in the harbor at about 9feet, it shows 9 for a little time then goes --

Is it possible to take it out and clean it/check connections maby. Atm it is on land does the trancduser work on dry land, and is the wiering from the trancducer directly to the instrument or is it connected to the engin wire harness.



Sincerly
Stein Torbergsen
stein.torbergsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 10:30 PM   #7
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,615
Default

The problem is most likely either the bond line between the transducer and hull has separated some and that void is causing the issue or the transducer itself is bad.

If the initial issue you probably cannot remove it without damage. Your best bet is to replace it if you can find one that works with your unit.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 06:56 AM   #8
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 12
Default

if it just is the bond betwen the hull and trancducer can i just fix the bonding, or is best bet to get a compleatly new one
stein.torbergsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 11:24 AM   #9
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stein.torbergsen View Post
if it just is the bond betwen the hull and trancducer can i just fix the bonding, or is best bet to get a compleatly new one
To fix the bond line you need to remove it but there is typically still enough of a bond that removing the transducer destroys it.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 12:29 PM   #10
Lt. Commander
 
jimq26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 204
Default

Remember - the transducer signal will only travel through water/liquid. It immediately stops if there is an air bubble or tiny air strip between it and the bottom. The signal will not travel through wood, but will go through plastic or fibreglass.


Mike's post #7 is the most logical.
jimq26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 07:37 PM   #11
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 12
Default

Hi

So if the trancducer is a bit loose, but working can i try to fix it to the hull again with bounding agents, and if i do that is it something i need to watch out for.

And thx for all the replies.

Sincerly
Stein Torbergsen
stein.torbergsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 07:49 PM   #12
Lt. Commander
 
jimq26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 204
Default

Yes, if you test that it works (use a poly bag with water in it and place it back in its previous location after cleaning the area right down to the glass) you can then refasten it to the hull. The transducer should now read through the water, poly bag, cleaned hull area, and give you a reading that's consistent. When you know it works that way, then remove it, dry it off, and refasten to the hull. Use 30 minute epoxy (since that will not have any air bubbles in it unlike 5 minute epoxy), and glue back in the original cleaned location.


Every manual for installation of a transducer always advises using carefully mixed 30 minute epoxy to seal to the hull.
jimq26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 08:36 PM   #13
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,615
Default

Wonít hurt to try but I donít know anyone who has been successful at it.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 09:44 PM   #14
Lt. Commander
 
jimq26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 204
Default

Oh ye of little faith (tee-hee).



I've installed transducers successfully on 3 sailboats over the years following this method.


The key is to make sure the hull surface where you are making the attachment is fine sanded to the glass (no paint) then cleaned with acetone or whatever. You then seat the transducer into a liberal puddle of 30 minute epoxy (make a little circle or dam from putty to hold the epoxy in the area when you set the transducer into it).



Providing you've tested it with the water in a bag to verify it's operational, then once the epoxy dries it should work for another 20 years.
jimq26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 11:35 PM   #15
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimq26 View Post
Oh ye of little faith (tee-hee).



I've installed transducers successfully on 3 sailboats over the years following this method.


The key is to make sure the hull surface where you are making the attachment is fine sanded to the glass (no paint) then cleaned with acetone or whatever. You then seat the transducer into a liberal puddle of 30 minute epoxy (make a little circle or dam from putty to hold the epoxy in the area when you set the transducer into it).



Providing you've tested it with the water in a bag to verify it's operational, then once the epoxy dries it should work for another 20 years.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 01:22 AM   #16
Lt. Commander
 
jimq26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 204
Default

Mike - you're priceless!!


Would I kid you?
jimq26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 11:15 AM   #17
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimq26 View Post
Mike - you're priceless!!


Would I kid you?
"Would I kid you?", only with a lobster Jim
__________________

__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.