Old 05-28-2011, 12:54 AM   #1
Ensign

Default 2004 1800 SR3 question...

Hello all, new member, first post, and I can't even claim to be a Maxum owner just yet, but I'm very close to picking up an immaculate 2004 1800 SR3 with the 4.3 190HP. (85hrs)

While reading about the 1800 and the 4.3 liter I came across a posting by an owner who has a 2004 and claims that his engine starts making a loud "drum-like" noise when approaching 1200rpms. He claims that the whole boat shutters and vibrates too.

Apparently his dealer told him that it's the nature of the boat.

My question: Does this ring true with any other 4.3 owners? Is this something that I should expect? Has anyone else heard of this happening?

This is my first boat. Other than small outboards, I have no experience, but I've always wanted a boat and I'm going for it.

I look forward to any advice or comments.

Thank you.

strmh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 01:44 AM   #2
Admiral

I have never owned a boat with a V6 but I have had friends that have had them.I have ridin with them and guess what? No drums!...... not even a high hat. If I had someone tell that this is normal on any boat I would be LOL and calling this sales person an idiot that is telling me this tall tale of BS....... gee even a couple of four letter words, which love isn't one of them, might pop out of my mouth.

No that is not normal, that engine just sound smooth and purring, not like a marching band on New Years Day. Nothing should be vibrating or shuddering.

That is why you get a mechanical survey done before you buy the boat. Test drive the boat before you buy the boat! Spend the extra money to protect your interest, it is well worth it..........

Hope this helps and good luck........there are plenty of great used boats out there in this kind of economy.........be choosy!

Roger

biggerseagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 02:02 AM   #3
Ensign