Old 07-22-2011, 01:04 PM   #1
Ensign

Default hard starting

I am a new owner to a 1989 Maxum, great boat but a few problems. I am new to boating so i am not to sure what it might be but here we go. 1st off it starts and runs great initially but after we are on the lake and warmed up if i shut it off it is hard to start and we have to float for awhile and try it again. Once it starts again it runs fine up to 3/4 throttle but then acts like it is loading up and when you bring
down to an idle it will die. the motor is a mercruiser 3.0 with electric choke, i think it is a choke isssue but i'm not sure. The gas is fresh the fuel filter is new, could it be the advance in the distributor?
Thanks in advance.

Philc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 01:32 PM   #2
Admiral

Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd

Phil,

It does sound like perhaps the choke isn't opening, or staying open, once the engine is warmed up. Easy to verify though; with engine cold pull the flame arrestor off the top of the carb and check to see that the choke is closed. Start her up. Once started but still cold the choke should be only partially open. Get the engine up to operating temp and verify the choke is ALL the way open. Shut the engine down - choke should still be open. Wait a few minutes then turn the key to the "Run" position - choke should still be open. Turn key to Start and fire it up. Choke should still be open.

Let us know what you find out.

Dan

ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 02:00 PM   #3

Lightbulb

Hey Phil,