Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2014, 07:39 PM   #1
Lt. JG
 
Bar Hopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 33
Default Battery charger

We are looking to replace the onboard battery charger. The original owners cut the wires for some unknown reason.
Any ideas or suggestions on a replacement model would be appreciated. Also, how difficult is it to rewire a charger into the shore power circuit panel?
__________________

__________________
Not all who wander are lost.
"Land was created as a place for boats to visit."
Bar Hopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 09:20 PM   #2
Admiral
 
biggerseagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 2,119
Default

James

Got any marine store that you go to alot? Well head over there and tell the sales person what you need. If you charge two batteries you need a two bank charger, if you have three batteries it is a three bank .

As far as wiring it into your original 110 ac look where the old wiring went. You should have a circuit breaker just for the charger if you don't you will have to address that. If you have all that you might look in the engine compartment where the wiring is to see if there is a junction box where you can splice into with a new one.

The important thing here is to get the right size charger for your needs. Installation is easy. You could be looking around 250 to 450 in price.


Good luck

Roger
__________________

biggerseagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 09:35 PM   #3
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,751
Default

Why not reconnect the existing charger to determine if it needs to be replaced.
AC in is hot/neutral/ground.
DC is hot and ground for each bank. The 2400 SCR came wit a 2 bank charger.

If you get a new charger it will come with wiring directions but it is as I stated above.

Then again what wires are cut and how far back? AC, DC, both? May need to run new wires.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 05:10 AM   #4
Lt. JG
 
Bar Hopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 33
Default

Thanks Guys... Not sure why they cut the wires or which wires they are. have to get a better look at it. I'm guessing there was a problem with the charger. Buying a new one might be the better way to go. It does have a circuit breaker for the charger. And I will look to see if it can be spliced. Thanks for the info and help. just needed a bit of reassurance that It isn't going to be as difficult as I have imagined it.
__________________
Not all who wander are lost.
"Land was created as a place for boats to visit."
Bar Hopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 12:05 PM   #5
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,751
Default

Can you post a picture of th unit showingthe cut wires?

To bad they did not just disconnect the wires instead of hacking them.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 01:00 PM   #6
Lt. JG
 
Bar Hopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 33
Default

Mike, I will get that picture up sometime later tonight.. my plans to clean and work on the boat today have taken a backseat to helping a friend with his boat. So far I've had to tow him home twice and I believe tow boat US has done it another 3 times... supposedly the mechanics have figured out the problem and we will be testing it this morning. I told him he should have bought a maxum... wouldn't have all these problems
__________________
Not all who wander are lost.
"Land was created as a place for boats to visit."
Bar Hopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 01:30 PM   #7
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,751
Default

And any he would have he would have this site for help.

Does he have an I/O or outboard?

BTY we will help all boaters here just like all te other sites.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 12:01 PM   #8
Lt. JG
 
Bar Hopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 33
Default

his boat ended up staying in the shop. They have a Yamaha rep coming in to see it. His yamaha outboard 200hp runs great and then, on occasion just stalls out or after turning it off may or may not restart. They have gone through everything they can think of and still can't find the gremlin causing this issue. The biggest issue is that it doesn't happen all the time.
__________________
Not all who wander are lost.
"Land was created as a place for boats to visit."
Bar Hopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 12:41 PM   #9
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,751
Default

Hope the rep helps.

My knowledge of O/Bs is rather limited, so no help from me.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 12:02 PM   #10
Lt. JG
 
Bar Hopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 33
Default

haven't gotten a chance to take that pic. but I did get a good look at the xharger this weekend... looks like they only cut the wires to the battery. It seems the wires running to the panel are still intact. We are going to try and replace the bad wire and see if it works. I have a friend at my marina that knows all about them and is going to help out.
__________________
Not all who wander are lost.
"Land was created as a place for boats to visit."
Bar Hopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 12:34 PM   #11
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,751
Default

Great, even if you have to replace the charger and wires the 110 wires are good. They would be harder to run new ones while the battery wire are all contained within the engine compartment.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 02:23 PM   #12
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,717
Default

On my battery charger, I can connect/disconnect the hot and ground wires. Some are wired with a plug from the factory. The PO might not have known you could open the cover or a panel and disconnect it. The battery charger should be connect to the AC panel, that is how it charges the batteries. You should already have a breaker on the AC panel for the battery charger circuit. You'll need to find those wires the PO cut even if you have to back trace it from the panel.
__________________

shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.