Go Back   Maxum Boat Owners Club - Forum > Maxum General > Maxum Maintenance
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 07-06-2011, 02:04 PM   #1
Ensign

Default 2000 SR3 Transom mounts leaking

For the past year I've had an annoying leak that causes my bilge to run about for about 10-15 seconds every 30 minutes or so when I am on the water.
This past weekend, I think I traced it to the starboard side transom mount that dips in and out of the water as we move around the boat.

My boat gets lifted into a warehouse at the lake I am at so I don't have easy access to the boat when we are done with it for the day.
I am thinking I just need to seal the outside and inside areas around the mount to stop the flow of water. When I say the flow, if I put my finger on the fiberglass inside the boat, it will slowly leak around my finger.

I am fairly new to boating so I am not sure if this is a common maintenance issue or not, but have been told by several folks that they can stay on the water all day and the bilge area (the SR3 bilge is under the engine) is dry.

Has anyone experienced this and what sealant did you use to seal it?
I've found a lot of comments on the web using 3M5200 Quick Cure.
Are there others I should think about as well?

I am hoping to seal this while on the water if possible.

Thanks ahead of time for any inside, thoughts or help!

buckeyefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 03:15 PM   #2
Admiral

BEF
personally ..I'd take the mount apart and reseal with 4200 silicone sealant!!...that will ensure that it's sealed properly and doesn't leak in the future...you putting 5200QS sealant will just be pushed off and out of the way allowing water to continue...somehow you have to have a place to do some work on the boat at your dry stacks.....your right..the bilge should stay fairly dry...but it is a collection place for water...

SP

Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"