Old 03-15-2021, 07:49 PM   #1
Ensign

Default Shift Interrupt Switch Issue

I purchased a 2000 1900 SR2 with a newer 5.7 carb engine. I love the boat but it will not come out of gear when docking. After hours looking at wiring and the switch itself AND several visits to shops, I have been told that the Thunderbolt V ICM is programmed for Bravo outdrive, not Alpha. Mechanic tells me fix is new ICM (861253T02) which will allow proper working shift interrupt switch. My (layman) question: is there a more basic fix to overcome issue ? If the switch grounds out the ignition (via coil) then why would new ICM be needed ? I have basic mechanical knowledge, so bear with if I’m not fully understanding how ICM solves this issue.

Thanks in advance

Dan

Vukdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2021, 02:58 PM   #2
Admiral

First question what is the idle rpm? If too high it will make shifting hard. Should be around 650 rpm.

Under Documents of this site you will find Mercruiser manual #24 and on page 4E-4 is the wiring diagram for you engine. View A component 5 is the switch interrupt. The not on the following page just says not used on Bravo but no mention of a different ICM nor did I see anything under section 4B ignition system saying there is different ICMs. If you look at the wiring diagram you will see the switch is wired to the ICM.

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2021, 04:18 PM   #3
Ensign

Thanks for the quick reply. Yes, I had previously looked at this section of the manual. Still scratching my head as to “how” ICM plays role in switch interrupt - I mean switch interrupt is a electro-mechanical feature. Shouldn’t matter what ICM. At this point, I’ll have to trust the mechanic who has been in contact with Mercruiser. On your question about RPM - the boat was running a little higher than 650, closer to 800. Don’t know if this variance would be enough to manifest the issue. Thoughts ?
Old 03-16-2021, 11:46 PM   #4
Admiral