Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2019, 08:04 PM   #1
Ensign
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Default No warmup

I have a 1999 Maxum 2100 SC up until last year no problems, this year the spring loaded button for advanced throttle control stopped working, not sure if this serviceable or if the whole shifter control box will have to be replaced. Forward,reverse and neutral all still function, but without advanced throttle I am unable to warm up the boat quickly when launched. The removal of this component looks involved.
__________________

mjimbouno1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2019, 08:16 PM   #2
Admiral
 
Phillbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lake Powell
Posts: 1,288
Default

The engine should warm up at idle just fine. I never advance my throttle to warm up.

I'm not sure what is required to fix the button so will leave that up to someone else.
__________________

Phillbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 12:23 AM   #3
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,793
Default

Did the button fall off or just letting you disengage the shift mechanism? May just be time to replace if after 20 years of service.

You should still be able to pump it a few times to prime the engine and set the choke then start in neutral.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 12:09 AM   #4
rwc
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 83
Default

What does it mean if you can't warm up in neutral? I have never been able to - I have to open the throttle and run at about 1500 rpm for a few minutes to warm up before I can shift into neutral without stalling - always suspected this was not right, but not sure what the problem is.

I rebuilt my carburetor over the weekend and watched the choke plate open as it warmed - the plate was fully open after about 30 seconds, but from previous experience this has not nearly enough been enough time to warm up for the engine to keep running.

I haven't been able to try it post rebuild, as I just did the tuning last night, but will do so next time. What should I watch for if it doesn't work?
rwc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 01:46 AM   #5
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,793
Default

Is the choke plate closing most of the way? Should be about an 1/8 gap when closed. Did you adjust the idle screws using a vacuum gauge?
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 02:22 AM   #6
rwc
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 83
Default

Choke plate is closing.

Did not use a vacuum gauge to set idle mixture. I leaned out until it stuttered, made it rich until it stuttered, then split the difference. I’ve never used a vacuum gauge and don’t own one. Will it be substantially better than my method? (Sorry, I recognize that is likely a dumb question)
rwc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 11:18 AM   #7
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,793
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwc View Post
Choke plate is closing.

Did not use a vacuum gauge to set idle mixture. I leaned out until it stuttered, made it rich until it stuttered, then split the difference. Ive never used a vacuum gauge and dont own one. Will it be substantially better than my method? (Sorry, I recognize that is likely a dumb question)
Yes it's a better method. Doing it your way I would lean it out till it stutters then back off till it smoothens out then 1/2 turn.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 07:18 PM   #8
rwc
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 83
Default

Thanks Mike.

I think I've found a vacuum gauge I can borrow, so next dumb question... where do I stick it??
rwc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 01:06 AM   #9
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,793
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwc View Post
Thanks Mike.

I think I've found a vacuum gauge I can borrow, so next dumb question... where do I stick it??
See if there is a vacuum port at the base of the carb. Do you know what carb you have?
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 02:31 AM   #10
rwc
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 83
Default

2 barrel mercarb

I don’t remember seeing a port but to be honest I wasn’t looking for one.

Dad’s answer was “Just jam the tube down the barrel!”
rwc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 11:36 AM   #11
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,793
Default

Not sure I have a good answer as many marine carbs plug the vacuum ports since they are not needed. What your dad suggested will not work as you want to sample vacuum under the base of the carb at idle (throttle plates closed) so the hose cannot get to the right area. I looked in Mercruiser manual #24 section 5B for the 2bbl and it tells you how to set initial mixture then refers you to section 4B which is timing to set final mixture. But all it says in step 8 is to set the mixture, big help. This is where you adjust the mixture to achieve max vacuum.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 01:21 PM   #12
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,741
Default

I wouldn't warm up a cold engine by throwing RPM's at it. There would be no point in Warming Up, if that were the case.

How long do you sit in your driveway with your foot on the gas to warm the car up before you drive somewhere?
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 03:45 PM   #13
Commander
 
jrsick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 487
Default

I have always assumed that the vacuum port is the plug located on top of the intake manifold just behind the carb. My plug has a fitting for a 3/8 ratchet to remove it. Vacuum gauge should screw in there.
__________________
2006 Bayliner BR205
A1 Gen 2 1.47
5.0 carb engine
jrsick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 04:15 PM   #14
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,793
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrsick View Post
I have always assumed that the vacuum port is the plug located on top of the intake manifold just behind the carb. My plug has a fitting for a 3/8 ratchet to remove it. Vacuum gauge should screw in there.
That would work as it's under the base of the carb.
__________________

__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.